Late Night Question

---_Won_---

Still Fresh
Please bare with me, oh and don't laugh..

If/when I get a Pandora, I would like to try and port a small (1-2Mb) windows program. The problem is I have no experience with this sort of thing. I don't know a lot about linux, or any programming language (I once made a "hello world" program and a few other things in c++)...

I have this camera LINK it has a basic GUI and a boot screen. Well a while ago I wanted to try and change the boot screen, so I got hold of some firmware for it so to see how it's made up. I was expecting to find some sort of jpg/png file for the boot screen, but the firmware comprised of just two bin. files.

I got a program to open and edit the bin files, saw the contents and thought, I have no idea what I'm doing. I closed the program and gave up.

Now here comes my question. In a case like this would you have to convert the bin files to some other file format so that you can edit it, I mean for the boot screen you must have a image file of some sort, a jpg etc, so where is it!? does the boot screen file just get turned into 1's and 0's?

Back to the windows prog I wanted to try and port. I think it's just in bin format too, so I tought if I can understand how my camera GUI/OS works it may help with porting that windows app...I may be way off the mark here, hopefully someone can put me straight...Cheers :D

You will often hear developers refer to the "source". These bin files are the result of compiling these source files on the windows platform for the x86 platform and of zero use to you as a programmer. You will hear the developers here say over and over again, no source no port. This is why. If we knew the program you were trying to port perhaps we could locate the source, or find a suitable replacement for Linux.