Sdl: Lots Of Clips Or Lots Surfaces?

Miner49er

Website
www.lessermatters.co.uk
HI there,

I've recently introduced myself to SDL and finding it quite an excellent library. My intention is to write some little multiplayer games for the Pandora when it arrives.

Anyway, I'm just looking at animating sprites. And I have a question that I should probably know the answer to but here goes anyway. Is it more efficient to have one whole SDL Surface containing all animation frames, then have lot's of clip rectangles to blit them onto the screen, or it better to have lots of Surface pointers?

To me, it seems like it has to be slower using the former method, while the latter would be more memory overhead?

Or am I way off?

Don't laugh, I'm new to SDL...

cheers,

m

Last edited by a moderator:
Your off a bit. Your surfaces no matter in what form will be loaded by SDL into memory. SDL give you a pointer to that surface.
You can SDL_Rect which are nothing more than a struct to specify coordinates and dimensions, i.e. x,y,w,h

I recommend highly that you find the lazy foo tutorials, thats what I learned from :)

I recommend using a single file for your spritesheet, and at runtime building individual SDL_Surfaces for each sprite. I remember noticing a significant speed drop on the GP2X when blitting parts of a very large surface. Aside perhaps more subtle reasons, I`m sure that it`s simply faster for SDL to blit an entire surface instead of needing to add pixel offsets to each line to get to a subarea.

It's always a balance of CPU Vs RAM.
As Alex says using a single surface and clips will give a little cpu overhead... possibly. This is the method I use, however.
Using individual surfaces will have a little memory overhead, so i really is horses for courses.

A bit off topic, but recently I was messing with canvas elements in Firefox. It has blitting that's a mix between SDL and Java2D for method names and parameter order.