[VERY Ot] Which Distro?

Giepi

Still Fresh
Hello everyone,

I've never been a pro linux user. Mind me, I've been using linux since the beginning of time, and by beginning of times I'm saying like 9 years ago. Which is near the beginning of time if you believe in some weird religion about the Y2K bug.

However, after a little experimentation with Red Hat (Red Hat and then Fedora 1) I've switched to Gentoo, which was quite revolutionary for me at the time. So I was a noob, but a Gentoo noob it's used to more manuality and configuration than the average *buntu one. In the years I grew more and more unhappy on how things went for Gentoo. Config packages grew more confuse than helping and you had to check and tune EVERY update. In the end, with the draining of spare time due to College studies, my gentoo system imploded.

The concept itself of recompiling every package on the tuning of your choice were neat at the time were I had a PIII 800 Mhz, because I needed the Extra Juice grew into heavy recompiling with scarce gains of performance against continuous compile time. In the end I became bitter against this environment if I loved the unmaintained promise "you'll configure everything the first time and after that the system will be automatically tailor knit". I couldn't move to a more "userfriendly" distro like ubuntu because I lacked the chance of customization and I abandoned the *nix system.

Now I want to try again, but I've been out of the scene for 2-3 years. I don't what to try. What could suit my needs. I prepared an unformatted 20gb partition in my laptop, waiting for some love. Because, in the end, I come back out of love.

TL;DR: What would you advice as a new distro? Something not too small, because I like the existence of very large community doing tools and tutorial for me :-D Debian? Slackware? Or even something BSD? Curious to hear your replies :-D

hello

Debian for the win ! ;)