Advice from a manufacturing engineer

outlier

Still Fresh
Hi all, this is my first post after lurking for a long time so get comfy it is a long one.

I work in a machine shop as a manufacturing engineer and I have some experience with lean manufacturing (a.k.a. the toyota production system) strategies. After watching the "Day in a life of..." video I have some suggestions about reorganizing your assembly line.

The big thing I saw is that you process units in batches. This kind of approach leads to a lot of extra handling and wasted movement especially since the actual work seems to be taking place in a separate room and then the in-process units are brought to that long table for staging. Having so many units in work at the same time is one of the "don'ts" of a lean approach since every device will spend most of its time sitting idle and you can expect to pick up and put down every device for each assembly step.

You can save a lot of effort by using a serial rather than a parallel approach. As a general rule you want individual units to start at one end of the assembly line and continue to completion, ideally without stopping. You can accomplish this by having all of your workers seated at the table where you had those dozens of partially assembled devices. For a broad example, suppose you divide up the process into a few work stations:

Lid assy -> Base assy -> Flashing -> Testing -> Packaging

Each station should have all the necessary components and tools close at hand and the work should be divided up so that each stage requires the same amount of time to ensure steady work flow.

I hope this does not sound like I am trying to stroll in and run the place, but I do think it would be helpful especially now that you are expecting the bottlenecks with board and case production to be cleared.

If anyone from the team is interested just let me know and I will be happy to go into more detail.