Angstrom Next

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
The angstrom devel seems to be readying the next version of their distro.

This bump (for now) :
- glibc 2.9 to eglibc 2.11
- libstdc++ 4.3 to 4.4
- xorg server 1.7.1 to 1.8.1
- kernel 2.6.27 to 2.6.32 (beagleboard)

This would bring us way closer to what debian/ubuntu provide as base system. So there is hope that this fix the chromium problems.
But this also mean a lot's of work and (I'm no expert) might break compatibility with some binary (pnd).

What do you think ?

Well, most of the work would probably be the kernel change - if absolutely necessary.
Most of the packet should work okay, we just need to put the Pandora specific patches back in :)

Hi,

@ Alibobar: it's not a race where you always have to use the latest kernel you know ;)

I'm still using kernel 2.6.26-2-amd64 (in Debian "Lenny" 5.0.6) and it runs fine on my quite high end laptop :)

I'm sure 2.6.32 will be sufficient for the Pandora and its hardware.

Bye, Magic Sam

if PNDs are anything like RPMs PKGBUILDs, DEBs or anything else of the sort (linux prepackaged software for a particular distro), I'd expect the majority of work for PNDs that fail with the new kernel or other software would be able to recover from a (possibly) simple recompilation/rebuilding of the PND... worse case scenario I can think of is possible code changes to suit new software bases, but that is the nature of the concept behind "compatibility"... I'd hope/expect any PND dev to understand that PNDs would essentially "suffer" the same upgrade path concepts that RPMs, DEBs and such deal with... but I could be assuming more than I should and a few devs out there coded their PNDs with the expectation that core software like kernels and glib would not change for a long time. I'd hope not, but you never know. And it would be rude of me to not at least acknowledge such.