Carmack says Direct3d is better than OpenGL

Gerix

John Carmack recently said that Direct3D is better than OpenGL due to making "incompatible changes to improve the API." He also mentions that if they just had to move their games over, id would make the switch. But since they would also have to rewrite the tool code, they will stick with openGL for now. Oh snap!

Still, it seems like a major (intangible) blow to openGL to have such a huge backer say "The only reason we use it is because we're too lazy not to." Well, at least we still have Wolfire Games.

I'm afraid I have no experience with DirectX, because one of my programming constraints is "cross platform."

panic2.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
Well yeah, openGL updates are not updates at all. With the last major opengl update everyone was pissed because it didn't update anything in fear of it breaking compatibility.

I hope this starts a race because right now keeping compatible is actually breaking compatibility. Microsoft took FOREVER to catch up to GL and they just barely passed them up so if GL wants to stay competitive they still can easily, I just hope they do.

Hopefully this is a wakeup call to whomever is working on the OpenGL designs. "Oh boo hoo, we need to break this compatibility to get better codes. Users'll need to have older libraries installed and we'll need to figure out a way to grandfather them in. That's going to take us, like, 2 hours to figure out, to say nothing of the extra 50MB of storage space people will need on their multi-GB machines. I don't think we can do it!"