Clockability

We are using the 3530, other devices like those Nokia phones use 3430. The wikipedia article is misleading, as there apparently are 600MHz versions and 720MHz versions of 3530 available.

mali said:
We are using the 3530, other devices like those Nokia phones use 3430. The wikipedia article is misleading, as there apparently are 600MHz versions and 720MHz versions of 3530 available.

Thank you for clarifying it for me. Does this mean that there are also multiple clockspeed versions of the DSP on 3530s also and the Pandora's DSP is only certified for 430Mhz operation, as per the official website?

Last edited by a moderator:
Afaik, the DSP clock ist tied to CPU clock and depends on multipliers/dividers. So overclocking a 600MHz 3530 to 720MHz should also raise the DSP's clock to 520MHz if you don't set a different multiplier/divider. I'm no expert so this is just layman's talk an guesswork ;)

Edit:
Page 144,145 of the datasheet shows the frequency tables
http://focus.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/omap3530.pdf

Can the GPU be overclocked?
I have not seen it mentioned anywhere but alot of cards these days can have the Mhz bumped.
it's on the offical OP homepage about overclocking. Upto 50%.

But GPU - ??

Beautiful.
Thanks Mali!

It's awkward reading a thread on a phone screen.
200mhz - Yay! Another quick thing: If it does get clocked to 200mhz and it crashed will it harm the GPU or is it fine and will just reboot to normal 166mhz without issue like the CPU (My GP2X crashed over 240mhz and is fine once I restart it).

Has anybody used the SGX at those speeds? It's always been either 55mhz or 110mhz in tests that I've seen. 166 and 200mhz is a stretch.

fischju2000 said:
Has anybody used the SGX at those speeds? It's always been either 55mhz or 110mhz in tests that I've seen. 166 and 200mhz is a stretch.