Coding on the Pandora

Gren

Very Active Member
Website
Visit site
Hi fellow Pandorians

Now that the units have started shipping again, my passion for making games for the Pandy has been re-ignited B)

This was my main reason for ordering - but the shenagins of the last couple of years have dimmed the enthusiasm somewhat.

I have no Linux/C/SDL experience - but I do code at work on mainframes (COBOL/DB2 and ASM/VSAM). The last time I fiddled with games creation was probably 8 years ago in Blitz Basic on the PC (and the Amiga before that).

My plan is to learn to dev in an appropriate Linux/Pandora-friendly language using my Books 24X7 subscription. Although TBH Linux and Dev toolchains scare the bejesus out of me :blink:

Just wondered if anyone here had any plans to Dev on the Pandora, and what language/environment you were planning to use.

And are you coding for the first time, or do you have coding experience from any of the classic computers of the past.

A pre-built self-contained Windows dev environment that could be used to build games directly for the Pandora would be absolutely perfect for me - but I'm guessing that something like this may never exist :(

Just wondered if anyone here had any plans to Dev on the Pandora, and what language/environment you were planning to use.
It's definitely possible. I've fixed few bugs right on Pandora (C language, Vim as environment).

But it's not very comfortable. Full-size keyboard/display is much more preferable for me. So IMHO Pandora is mostly for fun, not for coding.