Complete Noob Questions

Vince2501

Looked around on the Wiki page and elsewhere and couldn't really find an answer to my questions. So pardon me if I come off as a newb:

For my budget, I've been looking to keep it around $200 or so. So is the new GP2X bundle pack entirely necessary? To me, purchasing a slightly older model and then updating the firmware to 2.1.1 or so would be no problem. Or am I mistaken and there's something horribly wrong with the older firmware, and that's why so many flock to the latest preloaded model? I could care less about the games on the CD (I would be completely content with Metal Slug on the go), and the TV OUT cable is pretty low on my priorities. Plus the AC Adapter doesn't interest me as I all ready have rechargeable batteries.

Ideally; I would like one 4GB SD Card and one 2GB SD Card. The 4GB would be holding namely music, movies, and whatever. Whereas the 2GB would hold MAME, and other Emu's. Now, I'm looking at the Platinum 4GB card, would I have any problems getting the 4GB to work with the latest firmware?

Now, with Neo Geo Emulation the only thing that concerns me is having to use the Dumpgfx utility for LARGE files such as Metal Slug 3, KOF 03, etc. Is this utility especially hard to utilize? Because the instant I hear of ripping ISO files and such, I'm at a loss. Not that I'm illiterate at this stuff, but the more complex programming throws me off. It's not a big deal for me, but I'd like to know the depths of it beforehand.

Thank you, gp32_console

PS: One last question; can this unit go on the net yet? I've read of a USB attachment for a Keyboard/Mouse and that there's some sort of PDA download that can take you on the net. One follow up; if this unit CAN go on the net, how would that work? Is there a plug in on the unit for just such a thing, or some such?

No need for the value pack, but it will be a little bit hard finding the older ordinary pack (which can be upgraded to/already have firmware 2.1.1).