1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Configuring the tray's CPU Speed plugin

Discussion in 'Pandora OS (SuperZaxxon GNU/Linux)' started by spiralofhope, May 19, 2017.

  1. spiralofhope

    spiralofhope Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    In the tray / notification area is a button. Clicking it gives me a fold-out menu with CPU Speed as an option.

    Clicking that gives me a list of CPU speeds to change to, or change to a custom speed.

    How do I modify that list? The plugin GUI does not have anything implemented yet.
     
  2. Elw3

    Elw3 ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    648
    Be aware that this is the Maximum speed not the current one. You will gain nothing by changing this value as the speed is set automatically.
     
  3. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    If you manually want to override the options presented, currently the only way of doing it is to put 5 integers, each on a separate line inside the file: $HOME/.config-button/cpu-speed.conf
     
    spiralofhope and levi like this.
  4. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,171
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Is there some reason this thread is tagged as a release?

    -Neelix
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  5. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    490
    The release tag is for actual software releases...
     
  6. spiralofhope

    spiralofhope Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    I fixed the thread title. I thought the prefix was for threads regarding the release/beta status of the OS.

    --

    Thank you, this worked.

    For anyone else discovering this thread:

    - Before editing this configuration file, change your default maximum MHz, go to Menu > Settings > CPU-Settings

    - You should know your "factory" CPU setting. For me it is 600. Newer Pandoras are the 1 GHz model, so perhaps yours is 1000

    - To change your maximum OPP level, also go to Menu > Settings > CPU-Settings

    - For overclocking, you must learn your largest number that is still safe. If you use a number that is too large, you will eventually freeze your Pandora. When it freezes, you will lose your work, and you may also damage files that were being used. Maybe you will also damage your filesystem and other files too! Consider using a spare SD card with no important data at all. You should understand what you are doing, and make sure you test very well. When your Pandora freezes, hold the middle Pandora button down, and slide the power switch to the right. This will force a reset.

    - I used "CPU stress test", by @notaz which is how I know my maximum overclock is exactly 969. Testing will take hours, and you will need to do a little bit of work. I am very VERY very lucky to be able to overclock so much. Impossibly lucky. You will not be!

    http://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=package.overclock_test.notaz

    - Open a terminal with Menu > Terminal

    - Type

    Code:
    nano ~/.config-button/cpu-speed.conf
    Enter your five preferred numbers. For me, I added:

    Code:
    200
    300
    600
    900
    969
    
    
    Note that I have two small numbers there so I can do testing on "a slow Pandora".

    - To apply your changes to the CPU speed button, right-click the button in your bottom bar. A "Plugin settings" window will appear. Just click OK.

    - Now when you view the CPU speed menu, it will have your preferred numbers.
     
    levi, Eight Bit, FBnil and 1 other person like this.
  7. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    7,525
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Ah, right click and 'OK'. That's all I was missing. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...