Cross Compilation Environment

dbzeag

Still Fresh
Hello. I am very new to Linux and compilation on Linux, so please be patient with me.

I am very interested in this project after UMPCPortal did an article about Pandora a little while back. I have been looking at Zaurus' for quite a while now and I see the Pandora as the inadvertent next generation Zaurus.

From the research I have found, I think I am going to get the Pandora and play around with it, but I need to get started first. From what I understand, if you have the source code available and all of the compilers with suitable libraries installed, one can recompile the code with the ARM or more exactly the Cortex A8 processor as the target. More exactly, some source will even let the graphic resolutions be built as well as using the graphics engine appropriately, if the compiler uses the graphics libraries properly.

I have also learned a very small bit about cross compilation. Basically this is the art of using a "3rd party" build machine that might be faster or has more resources and libraries to build the binaries to use on a different target machine. Rather than building the source on the Pandora directly, one can build the software on a desktop machine (running Linux or even Windows if properly setup). Then one can take this code and "copy" it over to the Pandora to run.

What I would like to know is how to set up the desktop machine for cross compilation with the Pandora as a target. I would assume libraries for the Power VR and Cortex A8 cores as well as USB, SD removable slot, and 800x480 and touchscreen libraries would need to be available for the compiler. Is there a Pandora SDK that can be “installed” to a development studio package or loaded/referenced in the compiler for the target build?