Cyclone Bugs

Shirohagen

Brutal Deluxe
Website
richardho.lt
Hi

With the release of the new DrMD, a lot is being said about the Cyclone bugs which prevent it from being perfect, and also mean CaSTaway hasn't benefitted from it yet. As a non-coder, I was wondering what the Cyclone bugs are exactly and what are the implications for the resulting projects.

Wondered if a techie could fill us mortals in on it in simple terms.

®

I'm not very good at describing technical things in simple terms, but I'll have a go.

The cyclone bugs are basically faults in the emulation of the processor (the 68000 chip). For each instruction that it passed to this processor, it will set certain flags telling the program about the current status of what just happened inside the chip. One of these flags is called 'Z', and will be set to a '1' if the result of the instruction produced a zero result. (Eg. as a result of subtracting 1 from a register that was at 1). Other flags are called C (Carry occured, and can happen if you add a number which overflows the maximum number the register can hold), N (Result is a negative number), and others. I'd say most of the bugs were due to these flags being set incorrectly in certain conditions.

Other things that can cause problems are 'addressing modes' - basically different ways to fetch data into the processor's registers from memory (or storing data from the processors register into memory). If, for a certain instruction, these are guessed wrongly (eg. the emulator assumes a value is a memory address rather than a literal number), then the wrong result can be produced, which can cause the wrong result, or the program to crash, or for the program code itself to be overwritten.

Other problems could be that the instructions themselves are not be faithfully emulated, but this is more rare, as the instructions are normally quite simple.