GP2X Displaying Text

RiX0R

Idler-Inside
Website
rix0r.nl
I hope this question makes any sense -- I'm not very experienced in low-level C coding/Linux library code and whatnot...

What are our options for displaying text on the gp2x? I've used pygame previously, which includes SDL_ttf. SDL_ttf is in some ways a bit annoying to use, but I guess text drawing is always annoying, because it has been on every platform I've had to do it. In any case, it's more than adequate.

Can someone tell me if we have SDL_ttf available on the '2x? If not, can I compile it from source with the ARM compiler and then just link it into my executable?

If so, how would I go about this?

Or are there easier alternatives?

Experienced hackers, please shed your lights B).

theoddbot posted on Dec 3 2005 at 01:18 AM said:
I've put a library bundle up, same as I used for pygame.

http://brendan.mine.nu/gp2x-libs-theoddbot.tar.gz

Includes:
cairo
fontconfig
include
libsdl_svg
libsvg-cairo
poppler
SDL_mixer
expat
freetyp
lib
libsvg
libxml2
SDL_gfx
SDL_ttf

Hello. This sounds interesting. Is this a replacement for (eg) the SDL_mixer provided in the libsgp2x.tar.gz bundle? I've had problems getting that to link.

Last edited by a moderator:
Andrew Williams (aka evening2005) has a nice set of functions called AW_Font that allow you to display text simply, though you do need a font file or two. You can find the lot in the Pong code.

Well, I have also trouble linking sdl_ttf. I use the opn2x toolchain, when I try to link sdl_ttf I get following errors ...

Code:
/home/kim/gp2xdev/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-open2x-linux/4.0.2/../../../../arm-open2x-linux/bin/ld: ERROR: /home/kim/gp2xdev/lib/libSDL_ttf.a(SDL_ttf.o) [B]uses hardware FP, whereas bl0ckz.gpe uses software FP[/B]
/home/kim/gp2xdev/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-open2x-linux/4.0.2/../../../../arm-open2x-linux/bin/ld: [B]failed to merge target specific data of file[/B]

wtf does that means? and how to fix that?

nickspoon posted on Dec 3 2005 at 05:32 PM said: