Does Python Need Cross Compiling To Run On The Pandora?

Doomworks

Still Fresh
Hey guys,

I've started learning python and i was wondering if it needs cross compiling to run on a pandora?

thanks

Doomworks

I'm not a coder in any form, myself, but I'm pretty sure that it doesn't. Don't quote me on that, though. :p

Python is an interpreted language, so Python scripts can run on any platform that has the Python interpreter.
However, if you use an external library such as pygame, you will need a version of it for your architecture.

The interpreter has already been compiled and should be packaged somewhere, pygame probably has ARM packages somewhere. You shouldn't have to do any compiling yourself, unless you have a special library that nobody's compiled for ARM yet.

Thanks, can someone point me in the direction of a python interpreter thats been compiled for ARM?

Edit: Never mind

Doomworks said:
Thanks, can someone point me in the direction of a python interpreter thats been compiled for ARM?

Read what I just put :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Just to add,

I am trying to learn python myself. I made a crappy game on my pc before I got my pandora with python and pygame, when I received my lovely pandora I put my game onto an sd card plugged it in and it worked straight away, touch screen and everything. (except from having to change the odd file location)

CJ

DrCJBoduma said:
Just to add,

I am trying to learn python myself. I made a crappy game on my pc before I got my pandora with python and pygame, when I received my lovely pandora I put my game onto an sd card plugged it in and it worked straight away, touch screen and everything. (except from having to change the odd file location)

CJ
Have you any feel for how quick pygame runs on the Pandora?

may88 said:
DrCJBoduma said:
Just to add,

CJ
Afraid not, my game was so simple it didn't really push the pandora at all.

DrCJBoduma said:
may88 said:
DrCJBoduma said:
Just to add,

CJ