GP32 Emulation

Don Andy

Still Fresh
Hi there.
I'm new in coding for the GP32 (got one yesterday ;) ) and I want to code an emulator, but have no idea where to start.
Well, i'm not expecting to code the perfect SNES Emulator for the GP32 until tomorrow, or even a slightly funtionally C64 emulator, but i want to gain experience in emulating.
So if anyone can give me something to start with (perhaps a tutorial ;) ) i would be very grateful. :)

One last note:
Im new in coding for the GP32 but NOT new in C++ and a few other languages, so please no "Learn C++ first" posts, please ;)

I would say go around and ask any of the peeps that offer open source code emulaotrs and

1. get it for referance and ideas ( give them credit
2. Ask them where they learned

~Octavious

Already sent you a PM.

By the way:
I've gone through this (http://www.thaworx.co.uk/ninja) tutorial and is what a great help, but it only teaches how to code for GP32 with C and i think i would need also to know how to code with ARM, which is not covered in the tutorial yet.

So if anyone can help me out there it would be one more step to GP32 coding :)

The thing with emulation is you need to be proficient with two systems (the GamePark and the machine you're trying to emulate). The best thing to do would be to learn C and make up your own simple games first - a clone of Space Invaders for example.

Then pick a system you know a lot about (or can find out a lot about) and is pretty simple architecture-wise then work on that. An Atari 2600 is ideal for this. The graphics and sound on this system are rubbish, so no matter how bad your coding skills are at this point you shoud be able to get something out of it.

Remember the more you code, the more you CAN code. It's a learning curve that's actually a bit of a cliff if you try to run AND dance before you can walk (you're trying to learn advanced techniques on 2 systems before you have the basics).