Flash/SWF player

prehensile

Still Fresh
Hey all,

Just posted soemthing to the HL2D sticky thread in General Talk along similar lines, but thought I'd expand here...

I'm not a programmer (but I AM a Flash developer and resonably technically minded), and it seems to me that a Flash/SWF player would be a very VERY cool thing to have on GP32, not only so we could play existing Flash content, but it could also open up a whole new route for development... And I reckon if players can exist on PalmOS/WinCE/mobile devices, then surely GP32 should be able to tackle it?

I've seen a few threads which have discussed this so far, most bemoan the lack of any source then degrade into a "My Favourite Flash movies/games" thread. So, in the interests of progression, here's some open source projects I found:

http://swfdec.sourceforge.net/
- promising, but relies on a lot of *nix libraries...

http://tubesock.sourceforge.net/
- Seems a bit dead, but got as far as playing some simple movies.

http://www.tulrich.com/geekstuff/gameswf.html
- More promising, seems to be in active development, but uses HW acceleration/SDL and doesn't support Actionscript yet, so no games :(

Also worth checking out:

http://www.openswf.org/

http://sswf.sourceforge.net/SWFalexref.html

http://www.quiss.org/swftools/

I think its a great IDEA :D
-----
Dont you wanna play XiaoXiao 9 on your GP32.
Huh!!??? HUH??

Is there any open-source flash players that use the SDL libraries? (I dunno anything about SDL so sorry if that's a dumb question) If so then Chui could maybe port it cuz that person's ported some neat SDL stuff :D

I don't think that anyone is going to add ActionScript to any flash thingy for the GP32... It's hard to do, and it uses PC thingies like keyboard and mouse (and it might be to slow to do on a 133MhZ processor?)