GP32 Gp32 Sdl: Sdl_flip Waits For Vsync?

kialzzz

Still Fresh
I started programming on the GP32 with SDL recently and the framerate with a very basic program is capped suggesting vsync is enabled. I checked the SDL source code etc but I can't find where it's waiting for the vertical retrace.

The test program I wrote simply calculates and prints the framerate then calls SDL_Flip and the result is that it's capped at 62.5 fps but when I remove the call to SDL_Flip the framerate goes incredibly high.

Can anyone shed some light on this?

First: I'm no professional, but i'm pretty sure your saying that when you don't update the screen, it goes faster. Thats self explanatory, i think. But if your saying that without flipping you still see the screen, then somebody tell me what the hell i've been missing in all of those documents about using SDL on the gp2x...

Second: What Dev-Kit are you using? What SDL is included? This could reveal the problem easily.

SDL_Flip waits for Vsync, read here on the SDL wiki

On hardware that supports double-buffering, this function sets up a flip and returns. The hardware will wait for vertical retrace, and then swap video buffers before the next video surface blit or lock will return. On hardware that doesn't support double-buffering, this is equivalent to calling SDL_UpdateRect(screen, 0, 0, 0, 0)

If you don't want it to wait for vsync, then just blit your double buffer surface directly to video memory.

However, by using SDL_Flip, you impose a nice throttle on your frame rate, and a self-imposed slowdown on the program itself.

You also eliminate any flickering or tearing of the image.

--Jon

Nmn posted on Dec 16 2006 at 02:03 AM said: