Guitar Song Chords/tabs App.

aaron11193

Hey Telstra, I Hate You.
Website
www.geocities.com
Hey all,

What I would like to do is make an app that will look in a directory for song files ( .ogg maybe? ) and guitar chord/tab files ( .gtr? ) and write a list of songs with chords/tabs that you have for you to choose one.
Once chosen, the song will be played and the lyrics printed on the screen with the chords above where you play them and a karaoke-style highlight would be going over the lyrics/chords and the lyrics/chords would be changing on screen respective of where the song is up to...

But since I have little experience in SDL programming and my Mac is a pain in the ass to get XCode working with ARM and SDL compilation I can't do it until I get a new computer.. ( Maybe in the next few years :p )..

Just an idea, since I ( if you haven't already noticed ) play guitar and i find it a bit annoying having millions of pieces of paper in my guitar case....

Aaron.

that would be pretty amazing on any platform, but the gp2x would be very useful for portability. but who would tab all this? still it would be a pretty great app (im a guitar player myself, altho tabs prove too painstaking and slow, so i just learn all the chords and scales i can, and improv.)

Linkous said:
that would be pretty amazing on any platform, but the gp2x would be very useful for portability. but who would tab all this? still it would be a pretty great app (im a guitar player myself, altho tabs prove too painstaking and slow, so i just learn all the chords and scales i can, and improv.)
Most of the tabs I have were printed from Ultimate Guitar Archives ( google it if you haven't found it already, it's great :lol: )
I agree tabs can be a bit painstaking and slow if you aren't used to them bit once you get the hang of it it's a bit like a second language..

On topic..