I May Buy One Today

Haze

Still Fresh
Hello

I might be ordering a GP2X from GP2X.co.uk today but before I do I need some help.

1. Does the GP2X come with a USB cable and is it fix to the task (I have read unfaltering things online)

2. How easy would it be for a total beginner like myself to get Emulators/ROM/games and so on, on to the device?

3.What firmware will it likely be running when I get it?

Thanks.

X-Code posted on Jul 4 2006 at 01:02 PM said:
Comes with USB cable , it's quite easy to get emus running and it'll probably be a MK2 with firmware 2.0.0 :)

Thanks :) What worries me is that I have no card reader so I would be dependant on USB 2 for transferring thing to it. Have the USB problems been ironed out?

Last edited by a moderator:
Using the built in USB networking and Samba in 2.0.0 seems fairly reliable to me.. Never had a problem with it and used it for a while before I could 'acquire' a card reader from somewhere...

cheers

iggywig posted on Jul 4 2006 at 09:11 AM said:
Using the built in USB networking and Samba in 2.0.0 seems fairly reliable to me.. Never had a problem with it and used it for a while before I could 'acquire' a card reader from somewhere...

cheers
From how he wrote his first post, I take it that he's rather illiterate with computer matters so maybe it'd be better for him to avoid the complicated Samba networking scheme.

It is easier to get a card reader, but you can also use the USB connection as long as your SD card is not larger than 1GB. That's the only problem with USB that I'm aware of.

Paulo Becker posted on Jul 4 2006 at 01:28 PM said:
iggywig posted on Jul 4 2006 at 09:11 AM said:

cheers
From how he wrote his first post, I take it that he's rather illiterate with computer matters so maybe it'd be better for him to avoid the complicated Samba networking scheme.