• Evowhat?

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Music?

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • This is already done much better by : [author]

• No.

• Thats not a program/game it's a waste of time.

• Total voters

Bosbeetle

Terminally lost
Website
Visit site
Hello all,

I am a cell biologist and I have a problem idea.

The pandora has got me excited about coding stuff however I cannot code, but I can think about coding and about programs. Thats what I've done. Ever since reading about Richard Dawkins dabblings in simulated evolution it is a concept that excites me. As well as randomized music of the likes of John Cage et.al. Recently I've been thinking about incorporating it into a program I'd like to spend time with however here I like to asses feasibility and potential.

The idea I had was about a musical evolution program, nothing to fancy, no advanced harmonics etc, more or less basic evolution theory applied to music files almost treated as if their binary code was DNA. However with a slight twist to the soley academic endeavours of many others I'd like to incorporate a human factor.

So heres the brief runthrough. Take 2 music files (one male one female; arbitrairy) split their raw data up according to some features recombine these split up parts into a new file. Randomly mutate these files. Analyse this file and asses if it is viable (according to set rules).

Then comes the human part these files then could be evaluated by human ears (first 1 pair but later maybe it could be a webbased voting system :p) and the files get a 'popularity' factor. The most popular 'files' will get an advantage and get some more children. So the created files get fed back into the program and a second generation gets generated.
This human part should be ommitable and you should be able to just skip if you want to see what the computer makes after more cycles.