Local Network

RubiX

Still Fresh
Hey all.

Just wondering about connecting the Pandora to a local network (without wireless)

Shouldnt be a problem just with a usb ethernet adapter right? I've never tried a usb NIC in linux before, just wondering if they are easy enough to configure. I would love to be able to just plug into a hub, even just to play QuakeIII at a friends, as I dont have a laptop hehe.

Definitely very excited for this, my main usage will definitely be for Amiga emulation!

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Check out this article:
CODE
http://free-electrons.com/blog/usbeth/

These things aren't tested on Pandora yet, but it's only a matter of time.

'Gruso' said:
Check out this article:
CODE
http://free-electrons.com/blog/usbeth/

These things aren't tested on Pandora yet, but it's only a matter of time.
Oh nice info there =)

From what I recall, ED, DJWillis and Notaz have all used USB Ethernet dongles to get on the internet. I would have tried it too if any store I knew of in this city carried them. :)

What are these stores you speak of? Doesn't everybody just order online?

'Phawx' said:
What are these stores you speak of? Doesn't everybody just order online?
This one is USB 2.0 and guaranteed to work under Linux:
CODE
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833114017CVF

The Linux kernel has the usbnet driver, which I believe (although I could be wrong) could be used on the Pandora to connect it directly to another computer (from its slave port, not the host port) which should create a usb0 interface which acts as any other interface, so you could set easily assign an IP address to the interface on both the computer and the Pandora, and then set up a MASQUERADE or SNAT rule in iptables on the computer to allow the Pandora internet access through it.