GP2X Porting Clanlib To The Gpx2

second exodous

Advanced Member
I did a search for clanlib, clan-lib and clan lib and didn't find anything, so I'm assuming this is a new subject, don't get too testy if it's not. Anyway, I was thinking of porting ClanLib to the GPX2, basically it's a cross platform C++ framework(taken right from the page I linked). So does anyone think they'll use this? I'm a horrible programmer, so it might take me a while, but I asked on the clanlib mailing list what they thought and they were all optimistic. This game led me to it, I've always wanted to make my own Link to the Past type game. I've been waiting for ever to have Zelda Classic ported to Linux, and it's closed source anyway, so I'm not sure if that's the one to bet on. There are also some games that use ClanLib that can probably be ported right over pretty easily after ClanLib. Well, the ones that don't use OpenGL anyway. Actually Secret of Eternia uses OpenGL, but the programmer/designer said that it's only for lighting affects and quote: It would certainly be a trivial change to make it work on the device - and very much worth it End quote. So even some of the ones that use OpenGL could have it taken out.

So what does everyone think? Good idea or dead-end?

Thanx,
Stan

I am not sure.. it be nice definitely as it opens a whole new route for developers but the device already supports SDL. How much more functionality will it add on top of SDL?

Well, it's basically an SDK for creating games that can use SDL. It basically streamlines development of games. Qutoe from the ClanLib site:

The primary goal of ClanLib is to aid developers to rapidly create games and other applications.

It's to speed things up and make things easier, and from what I hear it's very well implemented.

Thanx,
Stan