Production Reassurance

Dan Pora

Still Fresh
Having watched this video on Youtube, someone commented on the use of ESD equipment during production. I share the same concern. I noticed the ESD mats in use, but see no evidence of ESD wrist bands connected to the mats or the ESD mats grounded to earth. Damage by static electricity can greatly reduce the life of an electronic device.

I don't know if I've embedded the video correctly so here is the url just in case.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6PmiurY68M&playnext=1&videos=yKGbA9TD0WA

Edit: I didn't embed the video correctly!!

Speccy Geek said:
Damage by static electricity can greatly reduce the life of an electronic device.

I thought static could zap a chip, I was not aware that it can damage a chip and reduce its overall life ?

I am no expert though.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm no expert either, but you notice they wear t-shirts and their arms touch the grounded mat as well from time to time, so no static charge can build up when they are sitting there.

A day in the life of the British Console manufacturing industry

Is it an industry if there's only one company doing it?

We're talking british climate here. Static buildup never has a chance.

I agree here. All the neccessary precautions are being taken to minimize static discharge.
I don't see a problem in the video at all.
I do have my Pandora and all is good. Rest assured... these guys building starting with a huge learning curve but they had MWeston to guide them and the build quality is so much better with each passing batch they ship

I'd just like to jolly well pip in here that at 7 seconds in the the video you can clearly see the ground cables coming down from the table. Did you even look? Or did you just start this shit out of boredom?

Nova said:
A day in the life of the British Console manufacturing industry

Is it an industry if there's only one company doing it?

in·dus·try
1. Commercial production and sale of goods.