Pandora Quite Realistic Chance To Have About 400Mb Of Ram In Pandora

Do you want more RAM which is slower?

• better get hacking, than just talking. And I'm a developer!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

cosurgi

http://janek.kozicki.pl/
Website
janek.kozicki.pl
Well, the title says it all, see an article on lwn: http://lwn.net/Articles/334649/

Then let's start thinking if we can (and want) put that into Pandora linux kernel :)

EDIT: they are planning it for 2.6.32 kernel

It sounds like they suggest using the RAM as a swap device by compressing swap pages.

So basically, you have 256MB of RAM, but an application that isn't running much gets swapped out into the compressed portion.
This might be useful since I usually have a couple random background applications running that could easily be suspended and compressed.

It's not the same as having 400MB of working RAM, though. Since it's a swap device, any usage requires the page to be decompressed... It's just a slightly better usage of available RAM.

I don't know if this would actually be useful, because I don't usually use apps that run in such a "low CPU mode" that they can be swapped, and that at the same time use loads of RAM. I mean sure, if I am a guy who uses a CAD-file viewer and have the need to just view portions of a 300 MB CAD file every now and then, or if I want to use raycasting rendering systems, or if I want to start a web server on the Pandora that needs loads of caching, or maybe load gitk to view a tree with 155116 tracked commits (certain kernel developers might do this ;) ), then this might be useful to me...

I still voted yes, because if this goes into the mainline kernel, we WILL get it sooner or later, so saying "no" here would mean that I wouldn't want the Pandora to have the latest kernels, which is why I don't.

I don't know about the rest of you, but for me, the more RAM, the better, and I don't mind the CPU costs (if they even exist?) myself.