Save Problem

wblackst

Still Fresh
I use a 4gig SD card on a new model GP2x. I've been saving fine on PicoDrive and pocketsnes for several months now. However, recently I have not been able to save games, either as savestates or srm files.

When I view the contents of the SD card and go to "properties" for any folder on the card, the "read only" box is marked with a light green (not the solid dark green) square. When I try to set the folders as not "read only," it will do so and remove the light green square, but when I close the "properties" window and open it again, the light green square returns.

I can add and remove files to and from the SD card from Windows.

The physical "lock" key on my SD card is not set to the "lock" position.

The only event I can think of that might have triggered the problem was that I put several .avi files on the card from another computer a few days ago.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

If you do format your card, don't do it using Windows. Use a Linux machine, a Mac, a camera or anything else as Windows has a habit of ruining SD cards during formats occasionally.

WhizzBang said:
... Windows has a habit of ruining SD cards during formats occasionally.
Please justify vague statements like this. I have used Windows exclusively to format all my media cards and have yet to ruin one. I have used cheap ones as well as brand name. Aside from performance differences between them they continue to work just fine. Also, I chkdsk my SD about once a week to ensure its integrity. Highly recommended since the darn battery meter on the F200 isn't compatible with anything yet. Save often but NOT right before the power goes out ;)

Squidge is right, you may have to format your card. This has been discussed multiple times in the forums and seems to be a common occurrence. Corruption can occur from a multitude of sources, including the GP2X.

When formatting keep some pointers in mind:

lots of small files = small allocation unit (maybe 1-2k)