The Inefficiency Of Firefox

nickspoon posted on Aug 6 2006 at 05:44 AM said:
I'm running Ubuntu Dapper, so FF comes as standard. I used FF on Winblows too, and because the interface is the same, I'm perfectly happy with it. It can be a bit slow and memory-hungry at times, but I can live with that, and it's better on Linux than it is on Windows.

Although this topic has reminded me to try Opera for Linux... apt-get, here I come :)

The problem I had with Opera was that it used qt libs, which I guess shouldn't be a problem for me since I use amaroK, wlassistant, and qsynaptics, but it just didn't feel right to me. I also didn't really notice any speed difference.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been using opera for a few months, and it's my favorite. It and firefox can be a little memory hungry and both have a few bugs. But I hate internet exploder.

Mudi posted on Aug 6 2006 at 01:02 PM said:
nickspoon posted on Aug 6 2006 at 05:44 AM said:
I'm running Ubuntu Dapper, so FF comes as standard. I used FF on Winblows too, and because the interface is the same, I'm perfectly happy with it. It can be a bit slow and memory-hungry at times, but I can live with that, and it's better on Linux than it is on Windows.

Although this topic has reminded me to try Opera for Linux... apt-get, here I come :)

The problem I had with Opera was that it used qt libs, which I guess shouldn't be a problem for me since I use amaroK, wlassistant, and qsynaptics, but it just didn't feel right to me. I also didn't really notice any speed difference.
it didn't feel right because it's not open source

I wonder if they built a new avant based on IE yet, I remember in the past that wasn't a bad browser.

I have also played around on the firefox 2 beta..bon echo. It isnt terrible at all.