Usb Hd Compatiblity

arconreef

Still Fresh
I'm assuming that the Pandora would work with external usb hd's right? Flash drives aren't gonna cut it for me. I would like at least 40gb of space, and 60gb would be perfect.

Also, VLC media player would work on it right? It'd be big for me if Pandora could play video & audio. I could throw out ye olde media player, along with emptying a 1/4 of my pc's hd (roms, roms, and more roms). :)

Sorry for not knowing any of this, I'm a noob.

Thanx! Knowing that it will run VLC will rule out the possibility of getting an eeePC. The Pandora will be well worth the wait. Especially with the built in emulation capabilities, and customized controls. I only wish it could emulate PC. Oh, and as for the usb HD, I'll just have to be by a power source when I'm using it.

Should be yes and yes. a bus powered harddrive is going to cut down on your battery life though. VLC player is available for ARM processors (which is what pandora is).

Short answer: 95% yes.

Long answer: The pandora will theoretically be able to do almost anything a PC running linux can do. The only catches are driver/software support, and hardware limitations such as CPU speed and what connectors it has.

If I'm not mistaken USB flash drives and USB hdd's use the same protocol anyway though so the Pandora will barely know the difference. Just don't expect to run a hard drive that draws ALL it's power from the usb. It might work but you'd be best getting one with a power brick.

The big question is though, WHY do you need that much space? Give it a year and you'll probably not have too much trouble getting 2x 16gb SD cards.

Another option also is playing your videos and such directly off a network folder, over the wifi. Though that would depend on how fast the wifi connection is. I frequently play videos over a lan cable in linux though and it still has really snappy seek times and such.