Wannabe Cross-Compiler(Er)

relliker

Hi folks,

I'm not a developer and never did any cross-compilations before but I'm quite an old hand at native compiling from source (x86).
I would like to do some cross-compiles for the Pandora and have two questions/requirements.

1) Is cross-compiling for arm just the same matter of knowing how to ./configure --stuff and solve dependencies like when compiling natively or does it require porting/adapting the code to run on the Pandora-specific hardware first (which would end this topic immediately for me) ?

2) If it's a matter of configure/make, can someone point me to any noob tutorial on setting up a cross-compile platform for the Pandy starting with an x86 base?

Thanks in advance for any/all replies.

For the most part, cross compiling should be fairly straight forward. Have a cross toolchain installed and set your CHOST and CBUILD variables accordingly.

That said, there are a many programs that need some patching to compile correctly. KDE (in general) is notorious for not cross-compiling well. GNOME is better, but it has some issues too. Xorg has a few problem children. It really is on a case-by-case basis on how well that package follows gcc standards, how asm dependent it is, and whether it's configuration files took into account that it may be cross-compiled (where is spend 90% of my time).

If you plan on cross-compiling for AIOS/Angstrom you probably will save a bit of time using the OE framework. There are others out there, scratchbox comes to mind. I also have one that I developed for Gentoo that builds on the crossdev env that pops out tarballs that you could also use if you wanted to do something similar to LFS.