Pandora A Piece Of The New Amiga X1000 In The Pandora ?

Magic Sam

Forever Homebrew
Hi, and Happy New Year !!!

A new Amiga X1000 is coming, made by Hyperion (AmigaOS 4) :)

More informations here

It features, among other things, XMOS customizable chips !

It's the inheritor of the 'transputer' concept, and it's something we're quite excited about.

Capable of eight concurrent real-time threads with shared memory space, at up to 400 MIPS (about 6 68060s worth), Xena gives the X1000 a very flexible, very expandable co-processor. The uses are endless; control hardware, DSP functions, robotics, display - even SID chip and console emulators.

Could we plug some of these to our Pandoras ?

Bye, Magic Sam

Wow this is great news! Finally something nice to run Amiga OS 4 on! The customizable chips sounds like a good idea but I wonder how well it will fare. Also I wonder what the deal is with the CPU. They are secretive about it for some reason. Thanks for the info Magic Sam!

noob here: what are customizable chips and what can you do with them. I can't really imagine how a customizable chip works? Is it hardware that can be changed by software? Sounds really futuristic.

@Bosbeetle: I think you're right about what customizable chips are:

we have customisable chips. XMOS calls it "Software Defined Silicon",

The uses are endless; control hardware, DSP functions, robotics, display - even SID chip and console emulators.

I think it's a chip that you can program to be whatever you want it to be :) It could be quite useful to the Pandora if we can "plug" it to some USB port, it would make emulation easier for example :)

@geise69: you're welcome :) I think it will be a rather expensive machine, for the "high-end" Amiga market, that will make the €771 SAM440ep a cheap toy compared to it...

Bosbeetle said: