Release Albert 0.14.21

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by canseco, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Spain
    Changelog

    0.14.21.0
    - Latest stable release.
    - Compiled with QT 5.11 from latest ptitSeb beta Codeblocks PND.
    - Updated sources and libs.

    More info since last release on the repo: https://albertlauncher.github.io/news/
     
    levi likes this.
  2. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Albert no longer shows any results for any search string for me since updating.
     
  3. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    I reverted back to a previous version too
     
  4. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Spain
    It works for me, it just takes more time to index them, don't know exactly why.

    Could you post the content of pndrun_albert.out file located on /tmp folder?
     
  5. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    No such file exists on my device
     
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Have you run it since the last reboot? The pnd_run system should always create an .out file in /tmp when launched, even if it's successful.
     
  7. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ive messed something up. I tried to downgrade to an older version, deleted the newer PND and replaced it with an older one. Now it won't even run.
     
  8. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Did you delete the /pandora/appdata/albert folder? If not, try again after deleting it
     
  9. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    It's always worth moving the appdata folder somewhere out of the way whenever you downgrade anything. You can try running the older version, but I'd always take a backup copy first, in case it messes it up completely and you then can't use it with any version. But if it doesn't work with that copy, you'll have to just delete it and start afresh.

    Edit: Ah, I didn't see @Eight Bit's post there.

    Edit2: Seems there's more than one Eight Bit user around.
     
  10. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Huh? What? Who?
    I don't get it.
     
  11. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I originally spelled your name without the space and it turns out there is a user named like you but without the space.
     
  12. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Got it to open once, quit it and now it won't open. :confused:|

    Heres the log for whatever it's worth:


    Code:
    =======================================================================================
    PND             : /media/PANDORASW/pandora/menu/albert.pnd
    PND_FSTYPE      : Squashfs
    APPDATADIR      : /media/PANDORASW/pandora/appdata/pndmanager
    APPDD_FSTYPE    : vfat
    PND_CPUSPEED    : <unset>
    EXENAME         : start.sh
    ARGUMENTS       : <unset>
    =======================================================================================
    [ START ]--- Mount the PND ----------
    Mounting : mount -t squashfs -o ro "/dev/loop1" "/mnt/utmp/albert"
    Mounting the Union FS : mount -t aufs -o exec,noplink,dirs="/media/PANDORASW/pandora/appdata/albert=rw+nolwh":"/mnt/pnd/albert=rr" none "/mnt/utmp/albert"
    [SUCCESS]--- Mount the PND ----------
    [ START ]--- Starting the application ( start.sh  ) ----------
    Starting user configured pre-script /media/PANDORASW/pandora/appdata/pndmanager/PND_pre_script.sh
    /media/PANDORASW/pandora/appdata/pndmanager/PND_pre_script.sh is done
    16:42:24 [33m[WARN][0;1m QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-d0'[0m
    16:42:24 [33m[WARN][0;1m QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-d0'[0m
    16:42:24 [33m[WARN][0;1m QStandardPaths: XDG_RUNTIME_DIR not set, defaulting to '/tmp/runtime-d0'[0m
    16:42:25 [33m[WARN][0;1m Qt: Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed[0m
    QT5 Base dir = /mnt/utmp/albert
    16:42:25 [32m[INFO][0;1m Systems icon theme is: "elementary"[0m
    16:42:25 [33m[WARN][0;1m Local server could not be created. IPC will not work! Reason: "QLocalServer::listen: Unknown error 1"[0m
    [SUCCESS]--- Starting the application ( start.sh  ) ----------
    /usr/pandora/scripts/pnd_run.sh: line 627: cd: /mnt/utmp/pndmanager: No such file or directory
    [ START ]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------
    [SUCCESS]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------
    [ START ]--- Restoring nub mode ----------
    [SUCCESS]--- Restoring nub mode ----------
    [ START ]--- uMount the PND ----------
    [ START ]--- Waiting the Union to be available ----------
    [ FAILED]--- Waiting the Union to be available ----------
    umount: /mnt/utmp/albert: device is busy.
            (In some cases useful info about processes that use
             the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
    umount: /mnt/utmp/albert: device is busy.
            (In some cases useful info about processes that use
             the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
    umount: /mnt/utmp/albert: device is busy.
            (In some cases useful info about processes that use
             the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))
    WARNING umount UNION failed, didnt clean up. Process still using this FS :
     2656 ?        S      0:00 /bin/bash /usr/pandora/scripts/pnd_run.sh -p /media/PANDORASW/pandora/menu//albert.pnd -e start.sh -b albert
     2938 ?        S      0:00 /bin/bash /usr/pandora/scripts/pnd_run.sh -u -p /media/PANDORASW/pandora/menu/albert.pnd -b albert
    +++++++
    Loopback devices :
    /dev/loop1: [b301]:749 (/media/PANDORASW/pandora/menu/albert.pnd)
    Are mounted on :
    /dev/loop1 on /mnt/utmp/albert type squashfs (ro,relatime)
    For these Union :
    none on /mnt/utmp/albert type aufs (rw,relatime,si=f457075d,noplink)
    [SUCCESS]--- uMount the PND ----------
    =======================================================================================
    Return code is : 5
    
     
  13. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    That feels to me like it should be an error rather than a warning, but that's only my best guess from that log.
     
  14. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Spain
    When you quit Albert, the device didn't delete albert folder.

    Did you quit with rigth click on the icon-Quit?

    I don't see this line on my log. Did you updated OpenPandora firmware?

    Menu-Programs-System-Upgrade Pandora OS

    It should be 1.76 update 3.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  15. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    In my experience, that 'device busy' error is quite common and has never caused me any trouble. I think it's noise.
     
  16. canseco

    canseco Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    884
    Location:
    Spain
    About indexing taking too long.

    It took 2 minutes to index the 800 PNDs i have installed.
    How much does it take with an older version?

    Not something common in my case but very rare to happen.
    Do you use vfat as filesystem too on your SD card?
     
  17. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    No, I can't remember now if I use ext2 or ext4 but it's definitely one of those.
     
  18. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Originally I quit it by holding the pandora button.

    Let's start over so we know whats going on. Using pndmanager I have uninstalled the version of Albert I had. I have deleted the appdata folder for it.

    I will now install albert and copy the log. Then I will restart and open the app again and copy a log. Then I will quit the app using rightclick_icon -> quit and save a log.
     
    levi likes this.
  19. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,114
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Worth doing. You say 'now it won't open', and I guess that log file was from the last instance where it 'did nothing'.
     

Share This Page

Loading...