C# .NET Visual Studio Code

milkshake

Advanced Member
Since my day job is a C# dot net developer I though I would share some exciting news (for those that don't already follow Microsoft updates).

Things are starting to get a bit more awesome for C# in regards to cross platform development and runtime...

http://www.hanselman.com/blog/IntroducingVisualStudioCodeForWindowsMacAndLinux.aspx

I know a lot of people in the community probably hate Microsoft and of course Microsoft cant simply wash away years of bad decisions and practices but they are starting to change for the better.

Whoohooo..

Build and debug modern web and cloud applications
oh, never mind...

I guess I should accept that WinForms is all but dead, but I hate the WPF designer, and can't stand ASP.NET (and web development in general).

Still, I guess I could just shift to Qt; but there's quite a lot about VB, C# and the .NET framework that I love. Qt suffers from having C++ baggage too.

Last edited by a moderator:
Whoohooo..

Build and debug modern web and cloud applications
oh, never mind...

I guess I should accept that WinForms is all but dead, but I hate the WPF designer, and can't stand ASP.NET (and web development in general).

Still, I guess I could just shift to Qt; but there's quite a lot about VB, C# and the .NET framework that I love. Qt suffers from having C++ baggage too.
I have minimal hopes that something will sprout of the google summer of code entry for Qt bindings for Mono. But no love for VB, that would practically be heresy :angry:

But no love for VB, that would practically be heresy :angry:
I'll be honest, I don't get it. As somebody who uses both languages, I really don't see the difference other than a little syntax.

Personally it's WinForms I can't stand, WPF is just wonderfull... except for the fact that it's windows only unfortunately...