Clrmamepro Question For Newbie

timallen82

Still Fresh
Website
Visit site
Ok, I'm loving the GP2X and MAME comes out and I'm loving it even more. However, I am a total newbie when it comes to "rebuilding" rom sets, etc. I mean, the last time I was into MAME, it was version .31.

Anyway, I have followed the directions found in the CMP read me as well as very helpful threads found here. I have been able to successfully "rebuild" a lot of newer roms to work with the .34 version of the GP2X Mame. I even downloaded all the "sets", such as all the versions of Galaga, et al. When running a scan or after the "rebuild", I still get a lot of red "X"s stating that I am missing some roms or rom sets in games that I tried to rebuild. I compare what's in the final zip file with the files listed in the compatible list found here (about 1mb file-it's not the gamelist that comes with the emu). After comparing, I see the names of the missing files. When I go to launch a game on my GP2X unit and the game won't load, it lists some files. Are those the ones it's looking for? How can I get everything in order? I'm only downloading games listed on the compatability list. Games like Frogger, Galaga, Galaxian won't work. They seem to be missing a couple or more files.

Sorry for the long post, but I am excited, yet frusrated that I am not keen on the scene, so to speak...

Thanks for any help!! :)

AFAIK, the newer rom sets use different rom dumps from 0.34 -- in other words, you won't be able to rebuild a complete 0.34 set using a full 0.102 set. I think someone posted that the 0.57 set converts fine.

If you're getting individual roms from a website, they're likely using whatever the current set is. I can't be much more helpful than that, seeing as posting links to possibly illegal content, such as roms, is (understandably) not allowed here.

So the set i made rebuilding my 0.9 something set won't work? I thought clrmamepro checked each file and whatnot...