Do I Have The Ability To Mod My Gp?

Fyvve

Website
Visit site
So i have no soldering experience save the time i tried to chip my ps2 and ended up ruining it. I have a FLU. I am pretty sure i do not have the skill to do the voltage mod but what about the glass screen replacement? Ive read the directions for disassembling the gp but i cant tell how hard it really is for someone like me. Mashmods dont work on gp's anymore so i am wondering if its possible to do these things myself. Is there anything i can practice soldering on or maybe some directions for doing soldering in general? Thanks.

Edit: I would also like to replace the hard plastic buttons with rubbery buttons like the start and select buttons. Anyone know anything about this?

Steve-O posted on Oct 15 2004 at 02:56 PM said:
personally I would say "Leave that Poor GP32 alone" :)

Yeah i hear you on that but i have a sickness. One that wont let me leave good enough alone. I think alot of us here have the same sickness.

Last edited by a moderator:
search the boards and find the post with mods gone bad from people that thought they could do it themselves, then make your decision, personally, i won't do anything myself, i don't have $150 to piss away on a new one.

Opening it and putting it back together isn't that hard.
You don't even HAVE to open it to do the glass mod.
You just have to be VERY careful removing the old plastic screen, unless you want scratches on your plastic cover or, even worse, on your LCD.

You absolutely do need NO soldering skills for that.

EvilDragon posted on Oct 15 2004 at 03:35 PM said:
Opening it and putting it back together isn't that hard.
You don't even HAVE to open it to do the glass mod.
You just have to be VERY careful removing the old plastic screen, unless you want scratches on your plastic cover or, even worse, on your LCD.