Dual video output


Christian

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 7, 2005
Messages
32
Is the pandora capable of outputting two different video streams eg. one to the internal touchscreen and the other video stream to a external display (a TV for example).

A scenario. You are outputting a movie to a external TV and at the same time you want to be able to use the touchscreen for another task.
 

Chip

[Insert Custom Title Here]
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
3,503
Age
41
Location
NJ, USA
Website
chipandre.com
fischju said:
To board is technically capable of outputting 2 HD displays
No, it isn't. The OMAP has two video outputs - one digital (driving the LCD) and one analog that is intended for TV-out. I am led to believe that the analog TV output is essentially a S-video signal, and it is not capable of higher resolution.
 

fischju

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
212
Chip said:
fischju said:
To board is technically capable of outputting 2 HD displays
No, it isn't. The OMAP has two video outputs - one digital (driving the LCD) and one analog that is intended for TV-out. I am led to believe that the analog TV output is essentially a S-video signal, and it is not capable of higher resolution.
On the TI page it says "Video Port (Configurable) 1 Dedicated Output,1 Dedicated Input"

and

Display Subsystem
Parallel Digital Output
Up to 24-Bit RGB
HD Maximum Resolution
Supports Up to 2 LCD Panels
 

Chip

[Insert Custom Title Here]
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
3,503
Age
41
Location
NJ, USA
Website
chipandre.com
Those specs are a bit misleading. It only supports two LCD displays if they are "smart" panels (see here). The "dedicated input" is digital - it is designed for the sort of signal you would get from an integrated CCD camera, like you would have on a cameraphone or webcam. It lacks the analog-to-digital converter that a composite video-in port would require.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fischju

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
212
Which would explain why the Archos 5 docks have analog to digital converters.....
 

stupot

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
54
fischju said:
Which would explain why the Archos 5 docks have analog to digital converters.....
Brings up an interesting point could you hack an Archos dock to provide the analog to digital for the pandora
 

xrl

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
3
fischju said:
Chip said:
fischju said:
To board is technically capable of outputting 2 HD displays
No, it isn't. The OMAP has two video outputs - one digital (driving the LCD) and one analog that is intended for TV-out. I am led to believe that the analog TV output is essentially a S-video signal, and it is not capable of higher resolution.
On the TI page it says "Video Port (Configurable) 1 Dedicated Output,1 Dedicated Input"

and

Display Subsystem
Parallel Digital Output
Up to 24-Bit RGB
HD Maximum Resolution
Supports Up to 2 LCD Panels
The OMAP3 has no video input. Has it? :|
 

fischju

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
212
xrl said:
The OMAP3 has no video input. Has it? :|
Chip said:
The "dedicated input" is digital - it is designed for the sort of signal you would get from an integrated CCD camera, like you would have on a cameraphone or webcam. It lacks the analog-to-digital converter that a composite video-in port would require.
The Archos 5 has docks which convert analog to digital allowing recording.
 

Catch23

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
30
The OMAP 3 has 2 inputs IIRC (one CMOS, one CCD I think), but definently has 1. But the Pandora has none AFAIK. Except perhaps on the spare pads on the board itself...where you might be able to hack something. But that's if they are on the board...I'm hoping they are...
 
Top