Ebook Reading Capabilities

acantoni

Still Fresh
Greetings all :)
I signed just today in the forums and though i understand the device is mostly game-oriented (i guess) i was curious about how can it be used to read ebooks (simple .txt format).

Most important the battery length considering you're using minimal power, the screen brightness (it is possible to change through some keyboard shortcuts?) and how relaxing is for the eye :D

Thank you so much for your kind answers

Fabio

Granted I have no real knowledge of this, I would think that Pandora wouldn't be ideal for e-book reading. The screen size alone would be enough to cause me concern, but on top of that, I do not believe that the display is ideal either. I think the glare would probably produce significant eyestrain.

Still, I'm sure it will be possible to read e-books on the device. And who knows, maybe it will actually perform better than I think. I just don't see it dipping into the Kindle's marketshare anytime soon. ;)

Using FBreader, I get between 5 and 7 hours reading time on my Nokia N800, which has a 1500 mAh battery and a previous generation processor. I'd assume that the Pandora with its 4000 mAh battery should get more than double (maybe triple, due to alleged better power management of the 3530?) that figure.

The screen size is indeed small, but the N800 has an even (slightly) smaller screen. The big advantage is that magnificent 800x480 resolution, which equals to a more than 200 dpi printed resolution. I have my font size set at 19 points and it really is like reading a printed book, with about half a standard paperback page per screen. The glare is no problem, especially not with a screen protector applied; only in full sunlight the N800 bums out.

Karel Jansens said: