First information for new Pyra owners (FAQ)


matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I thought there will be updates posted in the Mailinglist, but the last post where about Letux which whe dont have
But its quite easy to remember the 2 lines

Is there some way to watch the change lock? or its just update and try whats diferent now?
 

docbroke

Banned
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
549
Age
39
Location
India
As far as I can see, mailing list is mainly used to discuss bugs and patches ( to keep hns in loop). Compiling OS and updates are done by atc, which sometimes only discussed on irc channel #dragonbox-dev.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Oh no, seems like I screwed something up whit gparted: I wanted to take the boot flag from my sd card but I took the internal storage so it don’t boot anymore,
Is there a way to connect the Pyra whit my Ubuntu Notebook via USB and set the bootflag back?


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
But how?
Wouldn’t it help to connect the Pyra via serial and put the boot flag back?


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 

docbroke

Banned
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
549
Age
39
Location
India
To do something on emmc you need a working os. As far as I know you will need to download os image and flash it on sd card. Boot from sd card and add bootflag back to emmc using gparted or flash the os from sd card to emmc. The second option will also erase all data you may have on emmc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Im a completly noob in such things, and im now quite angry over me for the try to set the Bootflags myself,
where to get the Firmware, and how to put this on an SD Card? Just put everything on the Card and then Power on whyle it is in the left slot?
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Ok i wait, but the situation dos really put me down,
New Toy, 3days whas everything fine, but then I screw it by not watching carefully what directory I chose :(


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 
  • Sad
Reactions: rSl

cinaeco

Still Fresh
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
26

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Ok thanks, so i will try to fix my Pyra ^^
And I want touch my file systems anymore ^^
It wasn’t maybe not the best idea to screw my Pyra whyle not that many users have one


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 
  • Haha
Reactions: rSl

gpsqueeek

Very Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2016
Messages
133
Age
39
Make sure you use an empty SD card (or, at least, without any important data), as it will be completely erased
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
No problem, it’s an old 16 gig Card from the Pandora, I allready copyd on a 32 gb card,
I formatted it, and put the image on,
Oh and I see the Pyra logo on my Pyra; seems like I’m back in business^^
Can I now just make some updates via apt upgrade and it’s back on it’s last Version?
Whiteout my Software because it’s gone, but I know how to set them up^^


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,764
And I want touch my file systems anymore ^^
That's the wrong lesson to learn. The correct lesson rather goes like: I need to find out how to distinguish between the storage devices/partitions on a linux system and triple check every time that I do the operations on the correct device. (I don't know how it is on ARM, but on PC I've seen that occationally the device names get mixed up. So what's (almost) always called /dev/sdb one time was called /dev/sda and the other way around.) See to that you give the partitions names you can recognize them by.
 

theredbaron

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
137
Location
/home/theredbaron/
I once accidentally dd'ed an image to my root. Was a fun time. Lucky, I had a seperate deive for /home, but it still took a bit to get back up and running.

And I still cli dd. Just always make sure now, check the uuide etc. Lucky, fat's uuid is easy to rec, and most dding I do involve fat sd cards.

Sent from my H3123 using Tapatalk
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Well at least now, Pyra are limited to only a few in the wild, so I have to take extra care on my Device, because when this is screwed up, it’s difficult to get help..

After the Reflash, at least I have chosen the right language on first boot wizard,
And I made allready some apt upgrade, but now when I charge the Pyra, the green LED is back on the Lid , something that was gone yesterday..
i hope it’s just one update too less


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,764
I dd USB sticks with bootable installer or live cd images. I've got me some 8GB sticks, which I can easily recognize in gparted, when I want to know what they are called today.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,848
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
What’s wrong whit just push the Sd Carts out on every Boot, and then push them back in when the Bootloader allready decide to boot from internal storage?
At least I know now how this works, although it would be easier to have maybe a link on the start post of this thread: „If you screw your Pyra up because you played to much whit the data system, use this image to reflash : .. „
I can remember, whe had on Pandora a Side where the Flash Files and the Comunity Codec Pack where for easy download, whit a short info how to install..


Not send from my Pyra, but my Pyra is also here whit me ^^
 

aTc

Very Active Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
200
@matzesu:

  1. Grab the latest https://packages.pyra-handheld.com/images/buster/test33-install.img.7z
  2. Extract that 7z file to get an .img file
  3. Write that image file to an SD card with something like etcher
  4. Insert SD card into Pyra left SD card slot
  5. Power on, and it should start flashing.
From there, power off when it tells you, eject the SD card, power back on, and you should get to the first-run setup stuff.

Sounds about right.

Just be very careful with the resulting sd card, it will overwrite the pyra emmc immediately without prompt when you leave it in the pyra and restart :)

The card you get is fat32 formatted, and you can replace the test33.img.tar.zst file on it with a newer version without having to rewrite the image ( filename doesn't matter, the installer will use the first *.tar.zst file it finds), same with the uboot dir on there.
The reason it needs to be written as a .img in the first place is because uboot needs to be installed on it in the space in front of the first partition.

the test33.img.7z can be written to an sd card to get a bootable sd card with the normal os. Unfortunately it doesn't resize to fill the sd card at first boot yet (got a half working version of that, but there's just so much other stuff to do), so free space is limited.
 
Top