Flash Player On Pandora


MikeL

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
32
You don't need to run Firefox from NAND for this to work.

It is enough to put libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/, i.e. (executed from the directory you downloaded libflashplayer.so to):
Code:
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/

I can confirm that this works with the Firefox PND as well as the Chromium PND (Haven't tried Chromium-dev, but I wouldn't be surprised if it works)
 

hdonk

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
572
I *may* add the flash plugin when I do the next 2 builds. Just what are the legalities of using the N900 plugin?
 

MonkeyChops

NO! I don't play basketball
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
1,000
Age
42
Location
OHIO
http://focus.ti.com/docs/toolsw/folders/print/adobeflash-a8.html
Product Information

Description
IMPORTANT:

This Evaluation/Demo code is provided ONLY for users developing products with Texas Instruments Cortex(tm)-A8 based microprocessors (i.e.: Sitara(tm) and DaVinci(tm) platforms).
Request for access is approved on a case-by-case basis to end equipment manufacturers/customers.
This code is NOT intended for production use. If you intend to ship this software with your product, please contact Adobe or Adobe partners directly for any necessary qualification and licensing.
For more details, please read carefully the TI license terms and conditions provided in the installer.

It seems like you'd be fine. Request a copy, tell them why you want it, and see what they say.
 

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,885
Age
42
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
hdonk said:
I *may* add the flash plugin when I do the next 2 builds. Just what are the legalities of using the N900 plugin?

It depend on how legal it is to ship the TI built flash plugin. See :
Letalis Sonus said:
Well, I've got that mysterious Maemo Flash 10.1 plugin as well now, and - surprise surprise - it has the same MD5 sum as your leaked ti.com plugin...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hdonk

Active Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
572
sebt3 said:
hdonk said:
I *may* add the flash plugin when I do the next 2 builds. Just what are the legalities of using the N900 plugin?

It depend on how legal it is to ship the TI built flash plugin. See :
Letalis Sonus said:
Well, I've got that mysterious Maemo Flash 10.1 plugin as well now, and - surprise surprise - it has the same MD5 sum as your leaked ti.com plugin...
So not legal at all! Where did I put my lawyer proof asbestos suit?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MonkeyChops

NO! I don't play basketball
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
1,000
Age
42
Location
OHIO
MikeL said:
You don't need to run Firefox from NAND for this to work.

It is enough to put libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/, i.e. (executed from the directory you downloaded libflashplayer.so to):
Code:
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/

I can confirm that this works with the Firefox PND as well as the Chromium PND (Haven't tried Chromium-dev, but I wouldn't be surprised if it works)
this worked for me as well with mozilla

where do you put the plugin for Chromium?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fettouhi

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
665
Age
45
Location
Odense S, Denmark
MonkeyChops said:
MikeL said:
You don't need to run Firefox from NAND for this to work.

It is enough to put libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/, i.e. (executed from the directory you downloaded libflashplayer.so to):
Code:
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/

I can confirm that this works with the Firefox PND as well as the Chromium PND (Haven't tried Chromium-dev, but I wouldn't be surprised if it works)
this worked for me as well with mozilla

where do you put the plugin for Chromium?

Could anyone make a short video showing the performance of flash with this plugin?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MonkeyChops

NO! I don't play basketball
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
1,000
Age
42
Location
OHIO
I can later tonight (7-8 hours from now)if no one else does but as mentioned before its slow unless you drop down the quality.
 

MikeL

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
32
MonkeyChops said:
MikeL said:
You don't need to run Firefox from NAND for this to work.

It is enough to put libflashplayer.so in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/, i.e. (executed from the directory you downloaded libflashplayer.so to):
Code:
sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/

I can confirm that this works with the Firefox PND as well as the Chromium PND (Haven't tried Chromium-dev, but I wouldn't be surprised if it works)
this worked for me as well with mozilla

where do you put the plugin for Chromium?
/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ is also searched by Chromium for plugins.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MonkeyChops

NO! I don't play basketball
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
1,000
Age
42
Location
OHIO
yea, it's not working in Chromium for me for some reason.

anyway, as requested, here are a couple of videos I made last night showing the plugin being used to play a youtube video through firefox 4:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ3N8LYXzSs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiyxQSIuwEU

first shows a clip at 240
second shows the same clip at 360

as you can see, it only works well at 240.
 

meandu229

Zubeman
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,170
Age
35
Location
England(north east)
Website
www.zubeonline.com
MonkeyChops said:
yea, it's not working in Chromium for me for some reason.

anyway, as requested, here are a couple of videos I made last night showing the plugin being used to play a youtube video through firefox 4:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ3N8LYXzSs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiyxQSIuwEU

first shows a clip at 240
second shows the same clip at 360

as you can see, it only works well at 240.
Any OC there?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
I see another install pnd coming (like timidity midi installer) :p Install flash beta plugin.pnd, with menu asking which SD, and poof :p

jeff
 

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,885
Age
42
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
skeezix said:
I see another install pnd coming (like timidity midi installer) :p Install flash beta plugin.pnd, with menu asking which SD, and poof :p

jeff
As far as I know, it's not legal to distribute that file, so I wont do this...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,885
Age
42
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
skeezix said:
sebt3 -- so make an installer that does a wget and pulls the file down and sticks it in the right place :)

The illegal distribution is a :
MonkeyChops said:
it's a torrent though

The legal distribution is here : http://focus.ti.com/docs/toolsw/folders/print/adobeflash-a8.html
It's only available on request.

So no wget script.
Well, someone could write a script that grab the torrent and push it to my transmission.pnd. On relaunch install in correctly if the download is complet. But once again, I wont do this as this is still encouraging piratcy.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
yeah, if its wrapped up nicely by TI, then thats that. Sounds like maybe OP shoudl have a TI contact see about getting it :p

jeff
 

Dead1nside

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
Messages
1,056
Location
UK
Website
www.jonathanpritchard.com
What I don't get is, is this beta plugin? Didn't someone try this when it first came out and it basically didn't work very well at all, unable to play YouTube videos? If so what's changed? Is it just that they updated the beta plugin once?

Thanks. I'm very happy that it works. What's the difference between the n900 plugin and this ti beta plugin?
 
Top