Got a GP32 today cant get it to work......


tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
hi guys am new here, picked up a gp32 from ebay and I cant get it to connect with my computer, when I try to download the necessary downloads off www.gp32.com,
it tells me once I pt in my information that the site is not found

help!
 

tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
THANKS FOR THE SITE, BUT THE GP32 Authentication Wizard Program IS NOT WORKINGM so i dont know what 2 do!

its says can't open your usb drive
 

tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
well i got to the sign up page, then am given some steps to follow.
however when I attemptet to install GP32 Authentication Wizard if firstly comes up with a dialogue box with a red cross (looks like a fault of somesort), no writting in the dialogue box, then having just clicked ok it asks to submitt user ID and password, click submitt it asks to turn on GP32.
it is at this point is says its says can't open your usb drive
 

Swiss_Cheeseman

SwissCM
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
873
Age
36
They really should replace that dogey program.

Ignore the red cross, that comes up even if it works. Have you registered to the GP32 website? If not, do it, then fill out the username/pass in the program with the same details.

Try resetting and all that, and try using the gp32 pc-link program even after it gives you the error.

EDIT: Also, turn the gp32 on, and move it to the pc-link icon, and select that. It wont work otherwise.
 

tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
still no luck! got the gp32 off ebay, do you think it may have already been registered?!
well i'll have another go later tonight thanks for the help
 

jot2b

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
217
Also... make sure the SMC is faced the correct way in the GP32. To do it wrong will often render the "USB port failed" error message. The gold contacts should face nearest the bottom of the unit, and inward toward the GP32's screen. Perhaps this seems obvious, but the manual is misleading here.
 

consolelou

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
40
Location
Living in the U.S.A. near boston,MA.
Website
Visit site
Hello,just got my GP32 frontlit today and had some problems with that program,but i found out why,when you download the wizard,don't extract the contents of the zip,instead open the wizard zip by double ckicking on it and then double click on the program that shows up in the zip viewer(wizard will only work that way) and make sure to have your GP32 connected with the USB cable to your computer and use the gamepark select key till your on the picture of a monitor with a smart media card in it and prees start.you will now be at a screen saying "Now waiting" this has to be this way for the wizard to verify your gamepark.make sure you follow the order that the website tells you to and dont forget to get the "free launcher download" at the end! Let me know if this helped :)
 

consolelou

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
40
Location
Living in the U.S.A. near boston,MA.
Website
Visit site
Also,the USB file download at the english.gamepark.com website has to be unzipped after you get it,and when you get that error that says it cant find the USB,you show that program where the USB driver is on your hard drive that you just unzipped by using the browse feature,you should be all set once you do that. i had to signup with 3 different user id's at the english.gamepark.com website because it wouldnt let me sign in again after the first time and i had to get the game launcher program that i forgot the first time!
 

consolelou

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
40
Location
Living in the U.S.A. near boston,MA.
Website
Visit site
I just checked to be sure and the problem your having with the GP32 Authentication Wizard is solved by double clicking on the zip file and then double clicking on the program (running it from within tne zip,never extracting it). seems that if you extract it,it doesnt work at all,but does work perfectly if you do it the way i do it! :D
 

tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
I can seem to get the usb drivers to install, help please!
thanks for the help so far!
SAYS CANT OPEN YOUR USB PORT, WHENI DOWN LOAD THE DRiver what do i need to do with it?
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
Do you have XP? When you connected your gp32 to your comp, the new device wizard should have popped up.
 

Jorg

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 19, 2003
Messages
45
Age
41
Location
Netherlands and Belgium
Website
www.gameqube.nl
what version of Windows are you running? cause in windows xp, when you put the gp32 in the USB port and turn it on, a little window will pop up where you can install a driver for your new hardware. Choose the option that says something like "i want to install my own driver", and then select the gp32 drivers you downloaded from gamepark. that should do the trick :-\
 

tconanuk

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
22
thanks just got the usb driver installed seems to be all working now!

no it says GP32 time out now! what does this mean! help!
 

Azure

Trust the recursion...
Joined
May 21, 2003
Messages
3,805
Location
California, USA
Your taking too much time to connect it. What I do is, connect gp32 to pc. Turn on gp32, press select twice, press start, then open pc-link and press ok. Try this out.
 

consolelou

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
40
Location
Living in the U.S.A. near boston,MA.
Website
Visit site
:) Just entering this for anyone who wants to install games for the first time.You start the program called GP32 PC-Link Host that is in the gamepark folder in your windows start menu.make sure your GP32 is connected to your computer with the supplied USB cable and on the NOW WAITING mode before you run the GP32 PC-Link Host.now that the program is running and connected to the GP32,you will be able to install games(real easy once you get the hang of it) ok,it says GP32 and below it MY COMPUTER at the left top with the + sign next to it,double click on GP32 and it will open up the 5 folders inside the GP32 (GAME,MP3,GPSYS,GPMM and GPETC )the only two folders you are going to be using is GPMM and GAMES. all your .FXE files have to be copied to the GPMM folder only,use the GP32 PC-Link Host program to do this by double clicking on MY COMPUTER at the left and then double clicking on your hard drive icon,and so on until you get to the folder on your hard drive that has the .FXE files you downloaded to try on the GP32.once there,right click on one of the .FXE files and select COPY now go back to the top left and click on the GP32 icon and double click the GPMM folder,now the box to the right that displays what is in that folder should only have a folder with three dots as a name.with your pointer over any white area of that box,(not on the folder that is in there) right click and select PASTE. thats it,your .FXE file will now be copied to the gamepark,and all you have to do now to try it is shutdown the GP32 PC-Link Host program,unhook your USB cable and select game and then game launcher,you will now see the game you just installed and will be able to try it. there is also .FPK and .ZPK files for games,these are easier to install,just start the GP32 PC-Link Host again with your GP32 connected to your computer and at the top left,select the FILE menu and then select INSTALL,this will open up a small window that you can use to tell the program where the .FPK and .ZPK files are on your hard drive and just select one of these files and press open,the program installs everything for you.(remember,these .FPK and .ZPK files can only be done this way and if you were to copy them to the GP32 folder like you did with the .FXE files it wont work,you have to do it this way. one last thing you asked was about the DOOM game,you have the .FXE file and you install it just like i just told you to install .FXE files,but this is just the program that starts doom,you need the DOOM.WAD file (i found it by typing doom.wad file in a saerch engine pretty easy) this file is the actual PC game file and this gets put in the GAMES folder of the GP32 with the GP32 PC-Link Host program,just select this folder and then select the NEW icon above to create a folder and rename it DOOM.now find the DOOM.WAD file that you downloaded and do the same thing you do to copy the .FXE files,but COPY the DOOM.WAD file into the folder you just created in the GAMES folder. thats it,your ready to play doom,let me know how you make out, bye :)
 

Vicious_Al

Still Fresh
Joined
Aug 16, 2003
Messages
38
I got it yesterday and had 'exact' same problem, it's not very bloody straightforward is it?
 

jot2b

Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2003
Messages
217
No, not at all.

But once you have had the unit for a couple weeks, downloaded GP Cinema and a couple of emulators, and read a few FAQs on flashing the firmware and such, you will never have to worry about your GP32 again. Have fun, it only gets better!
 
Top