Gp2X Serial Issues - Hardware (Gp2X-Arduino)

cagell

Still Fresh
Hi All,

I am new to the GP2x world but have experience coding in C for linux and coding for Arduino.
I just got to program the GP2x and thought it would be great to interface it to an Arduino.

Hardwarewise I connected the Tx from the GP2x (Ext connector) to the Arduino Rx and both grounds together. I used a simple serial example to send serial commands to the Arduino. So far so good. I was able to see the serial commands from the GP2x on the arduino programming a particular message when a button was pressed.

Having only the one way comm (GP2x to Arduino)the whole thing works just fine, and all good. The problem comes when I connect the RX from the GP2X to the TX of the Arduino, then the communication that was working before (GP2X to Arduino) stops working.

I tried to troubleshoot what whas going on and I got two interesting results

a) I made a little program on the arduino sending always a character ('A') and the reciprocal on the GP2X (just reading). Funny enough it did work eventually, but not all the time. My guess is that I had a software error.

B) I tested shortcutting RX and TX on the GP2X and I got a weird error message (Over the serial wire!!!) saying that the remote device did not take the USB address on the network (I cannot copy the whole error because my serial reading software is kind of crappy and has limited buffer).

Based on that I think that there must be some kind of daemon or software artifact that throws an error when connecting the Rx signal. For some reason it thinks it is a USB device, but it is over the serial signal!!!

Again the program communicating GPX2 to arduino works just fine until I hook up the return channel. I thought it could be a hardware (voltage level) issue but really , shorting the TX and RX originated similar issues so, my bet is that it is more of a software issue.