Grass Roots Efforts To Promote Wiz Development?

torpor

hack hack hack, the little machines fight back
Website
w1xer.at
Howdy guys,

As a new WIZ owner and developer, one thing thats been on my mind recently is this: what can we do to increase the quality and flow of software for the WIZ in the immediate future?

Of course, as a developer, I think: fix the toolchain, get the kernel sources, add features that make it nicer to code for the WIZ than it is right now, etc.

And then, from a user side of things, I think: we need to get more promotion of interesting projects happening.

What avenues do we have to promote new game development on WIZ? Are any of you guys aware of upcoming coding/demo competitions that might feature the WIZ as a target? Anyone know of some really interesting stuff happening behind the scenes in this direction, yet?

I really look forward to the next 'breakaway underground sensation' happening in our scene, and if its soon, and for the WIZ (my current active toy), all the better. What killer games are out there just waiting to be discovered, in your opinion?

A large problem the Wiz faces is it's smaller screen, which is proving a challenge to make games more comfortable to play as of right now.
(320x240 res on a small screen is not a good idea).

As such, existing GP2X software may not port so well, new games should be designed taking the small screen size into account.

torpor said:
what can we do to increase the quality and flow of software for the WIZ in the immediate future?
Get OpenGL ES working ;) But unfortunately I think there's nothing that WE can do about that, we'll have to wait for GPH to release a working opengles.so file.

Last edited by a moderator:
Get touch screen working. And by that I mean fully working on the same level as the DS.
Even calibrated mine is off by several mm around the edges not workable for anything other than "thumbing" a button.

Again this is something only GPH can do...