Hardware Compatibility

ingeras

Certified Guru
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
388
Location
Europe
Website
wwW.gp32linux.com
it seems some bad hubs are not working with gp !!!

and dont buy a netgear ma111 V2 usb key like me !!!
it s not the same chipset as for the ma111 V1

ma111 V2 use sis 162 chip, and it s not working on gp !!!
in fact it seems there is some crap driver, but it s not open source
it s a binary and for 386 only !!!

:(
 

ingeras

Certified Guru
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
388
Location
Europe
Website
wwW.gp32linux.com
wait a little so we test more hardware
i am waiting for the powered usb hub also ...
if you have access to some hardware
and you could test for us ... thanks ;)
 

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
30
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
I have a 256mb xd card and I'm going to buy an xd->smc adapter.
So I can test if it works to use >128mb, do you think beacause the card is larger than 256mb it will not write correct or even make bad blocks or something?
 

excess

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
39
Location
Córdoba, Spain
Website
Visit site
aapje89 posted on Oct 6 2004 at 02:20 PM said:
I have a 256mb xd card and I'm going to buy an xd->smc adapter.
So I can test if it works to use >128mb, do you think beacause the card is larger than 256mb it will not write correct or even make bad blocks or something?
I think you can't use the card without a modified bios that recognize that memory size.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cyberic

Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2004
Messages
153
I m not sure that gp32linux relies on the bios for SMC access...
aapje89, just try it and tell us what happens...
 

generalnmx

Playful/Fascist Mod
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
2,128
Age
39
Location
Maryland, USA
Website
www.matts-hosting.com
aapje89 posted on Oct 6 2004 at 09:20 AM said:
I have a 256mb xd card and I'm going to buy an xd->smc adapter.
So I can test if it works to use >128mb, do you think beacause the card is larger than 256mb it will not write correct or even make bad blocks or something?
Won't work unless you use a some type of USB flash reader, and then you're better off using XD to start with :D

Look here: http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?showtopic=14756
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Blah

Wanna Be Programmer
Joined
Dec 18, 2003
Messages
3,253
Age
30
Location
Oregon, USA
Website
Visit site
Do usb 56k modems work? I'd bet that the winmodem ones don't work because they are done in software rather than hardware and eat up CPU.
 
Top