How Many Of Us Have A Dingoo And Run Dingux?

Got Dingux?

  • I have a Dingoo with dual-boot Dingux installed.

    Votes: 39 48.1%
  • I have a Dingoo without dual-boot Dingux installed.

    Votes: 9 11.1%
  • I do not have a Dingoo.

    Votes: 33 40.7%

  • Total voters
    81

CKeichel

Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2005
Messages
380
My Dingoo arrived last week and the first thing I did after checking if it works was following the excellent Complete Idiots Guide to installing Dingux.
Worked fine for me.
I installed in on 2 different Mini SD Cards (the first one was awfully slow). The preconfigured archives are a very good thing, all you have to do after installing the Dual Boot Installer ist to simply drag the conten of the archive onto the Mini SD card and you can use Dingux right away.
 
K

Kalisiin

Guest
wil hood said:
Has anybody managed to get dingux installed using windows vista?
Im only asking because ive tried it, and i have the china chip drivers,and vista will let me uninstall them,but it quickly reinstalls them again.
Anybody know a way of doing it>

Try This...

When you uninstall the china chips...DO NOT UNHOOK FROM USB. While still hooked to USB, reset the Dingoo, holding down the B button to get you into "Rockbox" mode (black screen) then, install your new drivers you get from the local pack.

Vista has a habit of keeping your old drivers handy, and installing them again, even without asking...so it's important to get the new drivers installed before the computer "detects new hardware" again. This is why you stay hooked up to USB while doing this step.

Once you have the new drivers installed, Vista should not try to install the old ones again.

This may or may not work out for you, I do not know for sure as I use XP...but other Vista users have reported success in doing it that way.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

darkman

darkman unmasked!
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
758
Age
66
Location
Kentucky, USA
Website
www.vci.net
I have had a Dingoo from the very beginning, but I have not even considered Dingux. I have been waiting until it becomes a complete replacement for the original filmware, I guess. Really, I have been satisfied with what is on the Dingoo original filmware. What I like to play is all there. I'm still running the filmware that came on mine, 1.03
 
K

Kalisiin

Guest
darkman said:
I have had a Dingoo from the very beginning, but I have not even considered Dingux. I have been waiting until it becomes a complete replacement for the original filmware, I guess. Really, I have been satisfied with what is on the Dingoo original filmware. What I like to play is all there. I'm still running the filmware that came on mine, 1.03

But you are missing out on MAME!!! and FBA!!!

How could you not want those??
 
Last edited by a moderator:

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
44
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
I'm still running native (albeit custom) FW. I know I'm missing out on a lot of releases. Getting it to mount properly is still dodgy so I really don't want to screw around with it.
 

darkman

darkman unmasked!
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
758
Age
66
Location
Kentucky, USA
Website
www.vci.net
Gruso said:
I'm still running native (albeit custom) FW. I know I'm missing out on a lot of releases. Getting it to mount properly is still dodgy so I really don't want to screw around with it.
I agree, my feelings exactly. I know that I am missing out on MAME and a lot of Homebrew releases, but I will wait until things are right before I take the leap. Until then I have my GP2X for MAME.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
K

Kalisiin

Guest
That's what backup is for.
I have everything backed up, on my personal PC, and a flash drive...and I own 4 dingoos...just in case one gets efed up.

No WAY am I gonna miss out on MAME!!!
 

gruso

thunderbox
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
7,461
Age
44
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
pandorapress.net
I'm not so concerned about losing my files. Just last night I backed them all up and reformatted. The reason - I had a strange lockup while copying some new stuff over, and although the files appeared to be there they were not accessible via the emulator menu. After reformatting and transferring my 1GB of stuff back over, it worked fine. And that is why I'm hesitant to install Dingux. ;) Not to mention that I had to do all of this with my HTPC, because my main machine (dual boot Elive/Win7) won't play with it at all, nor will my XP Eee.

Happy days though, with some nice new native FW releases installed:

http://boards.dingoo...-3-3-released!/
http://boards.dingoo...ystem-v1-0-706/
http://boards.dingoo...ontest-entries/
http://boards.dingoo...ative-firmware/
 
K

Kalisiin

Guest
Gruso said:
I'm not so concerned about losing my files. Just last night I backed them all up and reformatted. The reason - I had a strange lockup while copying some new stuff over, and although the files appeared to be there they were not accessible via the emulator menu. After reformatting and transferring my 1GB of stuff back over, it worked fine. And that is why I'm hesitant to install Dingux. ;) Not to mention that I had to do all of this with my HTPC, because my main machine (dual boot Elive/Win7) won't play with it at all, nor will my XP Eee.

Happy days though, with some nice new native FW releases installed:

http://boards.dingoo...-3-3-released!/
http://boards.dingoo...ystem-v1-0-706/
http://boards.dingoo...ontest-entries/
http://boards.dingoo...ative-firmware/

Personally, on that last one, I'm holding out for the programmer to add an AI computer opponent as promised, in the release notes, for the next version. I honestly hate 2-player Dingoo games. It looks like it'll be a damned good game, though, once AI is added. The concept is very interesting.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

archue

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
22
shinneri said:
similar in size to the Gameboy micro (which is in my opinion the perfect size for a handheld).

It's all nice and dandy, just the hand cramps sux after long hours of playing ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hns

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
555
Location
Oberhaching
Hi,
I know that it is almost 12 years after the last discussion on this thread, but...

... the Skytone Alpha 400 (and other models like Letux 400) share (almost) the same processor (JZ4730 SoC) as the Dingoo A320.

And we have made a big progress to run the latest Linux kernels (5.12-rc4) on it.

Most things work:
* booting from MMC
* Display
* Keyboard
* Touch
* WiFi
* Ethernet (has some hickups)
* USB

Not working (well, lab quality drivers are available but have too many bugs to call it working)
* Sound
* Power-Management and Down
* RTC

So I would like to make the community aware of that and ask if there happen to be any owners of Alpha 400 (and compatible) devices here. Because we need testers and people having fun revitalizing this still nice netbook machine.

The device I am talking about: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skytone_Alpha-400

And since there seems to be (or have been) a Linux for the Dingoo A320 it might be possible to port our Alpha400 work to it for a more recent Dingux
 
Top