libiconv problem / static linking?

hmc

Hi guys,

it seems I have a problem I cannot find a solution for myself. Please help!

Whatever program I compile on my Pandora (using the C/C++ dev PND on SuperZaxxon Beta5), seems ro require "libiconv.so.2", which is NOT available in a fresh SuperZaxxon Beta 5 install.

(Makes me wonder, if libiconv shouldn't be avialable in the firmware, as it is a quite important library IMHO, but that's not the question of this thread ;-) ).

There is no way to disable libiconv using the configure scripts of the programs.

What would the development expert do now?

- Link libiconv statically to the application? If so, how do I do this? I have never done this before, and I don't really know where to start to learn this.

- Include a dynamically linked library in the PND? Same here - I have no idea, how I'd do this.

- Anything else, what I could do?

Thank you very much.

BTW: Affected are, at the moment, TrueCrypt v7.1a and Conky v1.9.0 in the repo...

Daniel

You can try to install the codec pack. I think there were some problems wih iconv, if you haven't installed it.

You can also build libiconv and put the library into a folder called lib in the pnd root. You can export LD_LIBRARY_PATH to the location in the startupscript.

Edit: if you know they don't work, I would disable them in the repo for now and post betas here first :)

Last edited by a moderator:
I really don't want to go the codec pack route, as it would require me to advise all users of my PND to install the Codec Pack first. I don't consider this adequate for applications, which have nothing to do with codecs ;-)

Okay, will try the library inclusion and LD_LIBRARY_PATH route. Thanks for that hint! libiconf is configuring just now...

I also have disabled the two repo entries now.

However, my older PNDs seem to work even on the SZ Beta5 firmware.