Mac Compatability

smorkinlabbit

Still Fresh
Hi there,

I'm totally new to all this, so apologies for being really simple when it comes to the GP2X - this is my first ever post.

Also, I've searched for over an hour before resulting to ask this, so I'm also sorry if theres already info available - I just couldn't find it!

Basically, I'm one of those bloody Mac users, and before I fork out the cash for a GP2X, I want to know how compatibility will effect me. Just two really basic things.

When it comes to downloading games and software, will my Mac be a problem, or can I just download the stuff off the net and use it hassle free?

Also, I've got tons of SD cards, so I like the idea of storing music on some of them. On my Mac, I have plently of MP3s. Would there be any problems with moving these on to my GP2X and listening to them? Is there a built in music player that could play Mac Mp3s, or is does one exist that I could download on to the GP2X?

I'd be really greatful for any help.

Cheers

Will Freeman

No problem at all - if you've got a USB SD card reader, just plug it in and you can stick stuff on it using the Finder. Stick it back in the the GP2X, and away you go...

MP3's aren't specific for the mac, or PC, so the built in music player just plays them...

Works for me (G4 powerbook) 100% anyway...

Also, I've got tons of SD cards, so I like the idea of storing music on some of them. On my Mac, I have plently of MP3s. Would there be any problems with moving these on to my GP2X and listening to them? Is there a built in music player that could play Mac Mp3s, or is does one exist that I could download on to the GP2X?

Also make sure that your "mp3s" aren't AAC encoded. Examples *.m4p (Stuff you buy from the iTunes store) *m4a (Default ripping and encoding on iTunes). Those won't work on the GP2X.

Last edited by a moderator: