Mame Games Using 4 Cardinal Directions?

tedbell

Still Fresh
How do you guys play your arcade games that require only 4 cardinal directions like PacMan, Ms PacMan, DigDug and so forth? Using the 8-way dpad is very difficult! I play these games rotated, so that the dpad is being used by your left hand and the menu button is activated by the right hand.

The trouble is when you hit the diagonal directions, the character doesn't move or gets goofed up.

It would be awesome if there was an option in MAME to flip the screen, so that the A/B/X/Y could be used instead. This would also work better for right-handed folks. I see that wiz_frontend.cpp has the code for rotating screens and controls, but I am no programmer, and trying to compile that would turn my Wiz into wizz.

So, what do you guys do to play those games?

I modded my d-pad to extend the pivot slightly. It helps with hitting accidental diagonals.

Other than that the only other solution rests in the programmer of the Wiz MAME port. It has to be made to filter diagonals better by only recognizing the one press (based on which it first I guess) and ignoring a diagonal.

DaveC said:
I modded my d-pad to extend the pivot slightly. It helps with hitting accidental diagonals.

Other than that the only other solution rests in the programmer of the Wiz MAME port. It has to be made to filter diagonals better by only recognizing the one press (based on which it first I guess) and ignoring a diagonal.

I emailed Franxis about this issue - I hope he is still continuing development of Mame4All, it is simply awesome!

Can you tell me how you modded your dpad? I know that I'm no Billy Mitchell, but even a two year old should be able to play better than this!

Last edited by a moderator:
Good news! Franxis emailed me back and said that he is working on a new version of Mame4All for the Wiz and he might put in the screen flipping in the next version!!! Perhaps when the RetroMadrid fair in March of 2010.