Mame4All Freezing On Loading Screen

emulators4life

Still Fresh
Ok, I'm quite new to all this having just brought my Wiz very recently, I've downloaded a few emulators, pocketsnes, finalburn etc and managed to acquire some roms for them, these all work perfectly. However I cannot get mame4all to work, I've got version 2.2 as well as some roms for version 2.2. Once mame4all has loaded I can select the games but when I try to launch them I only get as far as the loading screen. It just freezes up and I need to turn the machine off and on again to get back to the Wiz's main menu.

I've also tried mame4all 2.4 but that doesn't even get to the loading screen, I just get a black screen.

What do I need to do to get this working?

First be sure you got the one for the Wiz and not for like the GP32. If so download MAME for your PC and run the same roms there. We still use the older MAME 0.37 Beta 14 for our PCs. I find that pretty much 99% of what runs under it will run under MAME4All Wiz. In this way you are checking your rom dowloads are known good/working. Hope this helps.

included in the mame4all zip for the wiz is a gamelist with all the working titles.

mystique, yeah I've definitely downloaded mame4all for the wiz, both the 2.2 version and the 2.4 version which I believe is the latest release. I then downloaded some roms which claims to be a fullset for mame4all ver 2.2. I tried these roms on mame4all 2.4 and could see and select the roms but when I launch them I get stuck on a black screen. I then downloaded mame4all 2.2 and tried the same roms, again I could see and select the roms but I only get as far as a loading screen when I try to launch them.

The only thing I can think of is that the roms I have downloaded are not compatible in some way despite the claims.