Merry Christmas -- Warcraft 2 Dos On Pandora!


skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,064
Website
www.codejedi.com
(Christmas is not Dec 25th, its shipping day, didn't you know? :)

I posted to my blog here:
http://www.codejedi.com/cgi-bin/blog.cgi/e...1wc2dosbox.blog

The screenshot is here:
http://www.codejedi.com/blogmedia/entertai.../wc2pandora.jpg

Sorry for the dark and lack of hardware pr0n ,but its late, my lightbulb just burned out. No video because sleeping baby in the next room and I'm sick. But when you're too sick to code, you can sure as hell plug UISB gadgets into your pandora mk2 dev board right? :)

Summary: Warcraft 2, installed from an actual CD (and its a bastard to get that to work by the way, I installed it on another machine and moved the resulting stuff over and used a CD crack) on a stock unoptimized badly configured dosbox.. and it runs good! Could even push the Panda more to make it perform better, and god knows how well it'll go when Pickle and the boys get to optimizing and configuring right :)

jeff
 

gaterooze

Coltrane Sundia
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
2,723
Website
Visit site
The blog entry has some serious goodness in it, with regards to other games running well. Wizardry 7 here I come :)
 

Brockway

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
59
Wait, if this will run, does that mean the Fallouts and other same era rpg's might be possible too?! Thought the most recent we'd see were 386 era games. Awesome news!
 

wesbrown18

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
159
Brockway said:
Wait, if this will run, does that mean the Fallouts and other same era rpg's might be possible too?! Thought the most recent we'd see were 386 era games. Awesome news!
Fallout is pushing it. A lot. Warcraft and Command and Conquer was a 486-era, early Pentium-era game, really. I wouldn't expect games that required a faster Pentium to run well at all, and those that did, are Windows-based.

Besides, Fallout was a pig on the minimum system requirements, which was a Pentium-90.

Warcraft II requires a fast 486 or a Pentium-60.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

devhace

Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
147
I love you. Warcraft 2 is so amazing, I play it still today. I've been looking for a way to play it on the go for so long, and the PSPs PS1 version just sucks so hard.
 

Pinballwzd

Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
255
Age
50
Location
B.C Canada
devhace said:
I love you. Warcraft 2 is so amazing, I play it still today. I've been looking for a way to play it on the go for so long, and the PSPs PS1 version just sucks so hard.
This is great news. Thank you for your hard work and get better soon.

D)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eksasol

Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2008
Messages
162
the screen pixel resolution is really good. warcraft2 was good, it would be nice to play thief and systemshock on the pandora.
 

lokiase

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
42
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
:)
Thanks a lot Jeff!!!!
Great to read about the SystemShock test. Hopefully we get that baby running smooth with some tweaking.
I´m pretty sure we will :)
Reaaaaaaaaallllyyyy appreciated and get well soon!
 
Top