GP2X Model Railway Dcc Throttle

palloyd-jones

Still Fresh
Hi

Newbie here - I am thinking of making a DCC throttle. Has any one done it yet? One problem will be directing output to the serial port. Will that he difficult?

Thanks

Peter

Peter L-J posted on Oct 17 2006 at 09:18 AM said:
Hi

Newbie here - I am thinking of making a DCC throttle. Has any one done it yet? One problem will be directing output to the serial port. Will that he difficult?

Thanks

Peter

Yeah Trains!
Well the GP2X is mini PC. First you will need somthing to convert the rs232 signal to the correct levels. There are a couple ways to do it.
1. Get a prebuilt samsung cable (this is in the wiki
2. Use BOB
3. Build your own cable (circuit drawing is on wiki)

EDIT - You dont have to do the above if your going straight to micro. In the end just make the levels are the same.

The next problem you will have is the DCC signal. Do you have DCC controller that your currently controling it with? Basically the DCC supplies the power and the signal to the train, and its not the same wavform as DCC.
I think to get this to work you need something to generate the DCC and you use the serial to talk to that device to encode your speed.

Its been a little while since I looked DCC stuff, i ended up getting the fairly new bachmann DCC controller. Its pretty cheap and works pretty good.

Last edited by a moderator:
i just noticed this is in the gp32 section, sorry my idea above was with the Gp2x in mind.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~rpaisley4/DCCvolts.html

Check out this site, it has a ciruit you can use to generate the waveform and still supply power. You can see the input for the 0-5v signal, which could be your serial signal.
I do not have a gp32 to know how or if you can get a serial line off it.

Thanks Pickle