NFC in the Pyra

Puppetmaster

It might be a bit to late, but would it make sense to add an NFC device to the Pyra ?

I don't know much about the cost or the needed room for the Chip + Antenna, but i can imagine some interesting scenarios of use.
It could be used to trigger Events on the Pyra via NFC-Tags or to communicate with an NFC capable Smartphone excange URLs or similar stuff.

What do you think about it ?

I don't know anything about general security issues bu i'm no expert.

One solution could be to only turn it on when in use/needed like Bluetooth or Wlan.

I would think anything dealing with money payment systems would have to have some strict controls / licensing and such.. maybe more of a headache than it's worth for EvilDragon.. Also in the North America I don't think it's used at all.

NFC is just a communications system. The WiiU gamepad has a transceiver which it was supposed to use for various gaming things, and Skylanders and Disney Infinity also come with their own NFC pads.

There shouldn't be any problem just putting the hardware in place. What people do with the software, what data they actually communicate, is an entirely different question.

I haven't thought about mobile payment just about exchanging Data or reading NFC Tags.
I had no clue what NFC was, when googleing it I only saw an article of it being used for purchasing products and such. didn't realize it had other uses.. If someone said RFID receiver/transceiver I'd know what people were talking about.

Last edited by a moderator:
It's a nice feature in my android phone but imho it could be "really" usefull in the Pyra with the open OS and software.

Iirc NFC and RFID are pretty similar.