Ogg Sound Files?


Sed

Still Fresh
Joined
Nov 22, 2004
Messages
9
Age
35
Location
NRW/Germany
Website
Visit site
Hi!

I have programmed my first Fenix game and it’s working, but I have one problem.
I have included an ogg file, but it only works on my PC and not on my GP32.
I have use this code:

play_song(load_song("musik.ogg"),999);

What have I made wrong?
 
Fenix for GP32 don't support OGG (nor MP3 nor Midi).
I think only support .wav, .MOD, .iT, .st3

Byes

As .WAV is too large (a lot of Mg) for a music game your best bet will be .MOD (low KB/good sound).
Take a look Here for some great MODs/ ITs
 
How many channels has the .mod you are trying to play ?. Have you tried using a .mod file with only 4 music channels ?. I could be completely off here, But the player could limited to playing .mods with oly 4 channels. It`s worth a try anyway.

Trooper
 
Sed posted on Feb 5 2005 at 01:00 PM said:
I have tested my game with a mod file at but I have the same problem as befor. :(

Put your code for load/play the mod.
I think the error must be there.

Edit: Try this:

musica_game=load_song("sed.mod");
play_song(musica_game,-1); // -1 for infinite loop.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I am an Idiot :unsure:

The problem that I have had was, that the Ram was full.
Now I have poorer grafics, and everything runs.
 
Ram full? WOW
Try to administrate your RAM by using 8Bits GFX, and be sure to using LOAD/UNLOAD (FPGs/WAVs/MODs) comand to free your RAM of non used stuff.
Example:
Say you are using a FPG with only four 320x240 images and a song for the presentation/intro of your game.
Make sure that in your code you release this FPG & song from memory (unload comand) as your intro ends because you don't needed during gameplay.
If you die, unload gameplay stuff (FPGs for chars etc.. & music game) and reload intro stuff again.

PD: What type of game is?
 
On a sidenote:

Hokutoy posted on Feb 5 2005 at 11:35 AM said:
Fenix for GP32 don't support OGG (nor MP3 nor Midi).
I think only support .wav, .MOD, .iT, .st3

Byes

As .WAV is too large (a lot of Mg) for a music game your best bet will be .MOD (low KB/good sound).
Take a look Here for some great MODs/ ITs

Where did you find that? :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Moogle posted on Feb 7 2005 at 04:47 PM said:
On a sidenote:

Hokutoy posted on Feb 5 2005 at 11:35 AM said:
Fenix for GP32 don't support OGG (nor MP3 nor Midi).
I think only support .wav, .MOD, .iT, .st3

Byes

As .WAV is too large (a lot of Mg) for a music game your best bet will be .MOD (low KB/good sound).
Take a look Here for some great MODs/ ITs

Where did you find that? :)

I think i read it in some Chui post.
Anyway i 've tryed to load some OGG, MP3 and Midis in GP32 and they don't work for me.
Sure, you can use WAV songs, but if its +2500KB big GP32 have some troubles with it. :(

I've tested some .wavs (sfx sound), mods & ITs and they work fine in GP32.

Have you succesfully play any Ogg, Mp3 or midi in gp32? :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
@Hokutoy It was the game, you can see now at the Newszone.

I had made the levels in
1000*1000 pixel large pictures(there are 5 levels)
and I had used the code

graph=level;
(level is a global variable)

and so I was unable to put these files in diverent fpgs.

Another question:
can I lode two fpgs at the same time?

If yes, who can I make sure, what fpg the function

graph=...;

choses, ore are the grafics then all in one new fpg?
 
Sed posted on Feb 8 2005 at 07:12 PM said:
@Hokutoy It was the game, you can see now at the Newszone.

I had made the levels in
1000*1000 pixel large pictures(there are 5 levels)
and I had used the code

graph=level;
(level is a global variable)

and so I was unable to put these files in diverent fpgs.

Another question:
can I lode two fpgs at the same time?

If yes, who can I make sure, what fpg the function

graph=...;

choses, ore are the grafics then all in one new fpg?

Nice game!
And yes, you can load more than one FPG!
Example:
player=load_fpg("player.fpg");
enemy=load_fpg("enemy.fpg");
Then in you process:

file=player;
graph=1; //to use first sprite of player.fpg

OR

file=enemy;
graph=1; //to use first sprite of enemy.fpg

By the way, you can compress your FPG with FPGEDIT.
Autoquote:
By the way... a nice trick:
Say you have your FPG FINISHED and it's about 2500 kb large.
Open FPG Edit and go to upper bar: Utilidades > Compresor para Fenix. Select your FPG and push "Comprimir archivo" button.
This will compress you FPG to something like 90 KB!!!
Warning: In GP32's RAM memory it will still count like 2500 kb but you will save some nice space in your SMC.

Byes

PD: If you edit/add something to a compressed FPG and save, it will save it in not-compressed mode. You need to compress it again.
For example, your FPG goes from 1860Kb to 1080 Kb!

Byes!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
devlkore posted on Feb 18 2005 at 11:17 PM said:
I dunno if you were being sarcastic, but that's the format of the music in my tech demo thingies (SNKvsMrT and Megarun).
¿Sarcastic? no no, I simply tried to complete the information about the modules types supported in Fenix :)

Un Saludo.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Back
Top